LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Richard Ducote attorney reviews

Rate My Boss
Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Richard Ducote
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Richard Ducote & Associates
Website:  ducotelaw.com external link
Phone:  (412) 687-2020
Profile updated: 10/26/13    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

good quality
Rating: 4.4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews.

Attorney Richard Ducote has a good overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Q: Was ducote disbarred yet??    Subscribe    Answer it
Q: Is Richard decoute a con artist?    Subscribe    Answer it

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
     9/30/14   1     1     1     1     1   He will tell you whatever you want to hear do not hire this crook he is truly a con artist he hires witnesses saying they will help you're case and then you not only loose because if his horrible skills in a courtroom but you also loose money for his so called services and the money for the professional to "help" when not even licenced RID: 143774
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/14/14   5     5     5     5     5   Richard has been my attorney for 4 1/2 years. During that time, I've been very impressed with 3 things: Richard knows the law, Richard always has my and my child's best interests at heart, and Richard is always there for me. This man has made huge personal sacrifices for this career that he's chosen. He's a hero. Abusers hate him because he's such a bad-ass. People try to sanction him because he never stops fighting. He doesn't care. He'll file whatever needs to be filed regardless of the other egos. As for the person who supposedly hired him in fla, my only advice would be don't use him as co-counsel, hire him outright. I say that bc he's so much smarter than most attorneys that they get offended that he's not running up hourly bills for nothing. He's not running a racket like most lawyers. He's saving lives. RID: 141772
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 10/24/13   5     5     5     5     5   After 9 years of a divorce/custody battle, I engaged the services of Richard Ducote. His immediate action to gain control of my case was unequaled by all the previous attorneys I engaged. His knowledge and understanding of the real issues of abuse against me and my child were remarkable. His commitment to developing my case, communicating his plan of action and his unparalled support of me and my child resulted in a positive outcome in court. He is an outstanding lawyer, always prepared and steadfast in his mission. His research, documentation and experience are extensive and resulted in the positive outcome. His presentation skills and his cross examination techniques are outstanding. He is always available to discuss any concerns and I remain confident that he will successfully address any future issues I may face with the same commitment and concern exhibited thus far. I highly recommend Attorney Ducote and his staff to anyone who is or has been the victim of abuse. RID: 125790
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 10/4/13   5     5     5     5     5   After spending years in the court system, with incompetent lawyers, I was about to give up the fight for my children.Thankfully I was lead to Mr. Ducote.He has been a god send for us. He has been the only attorney who truly listens to me & my children & the only one who wants to do what is in the best interest of my children. He knows the law and follows it.He did not force me to agree to deals to send my children back to their abuser nor did he threaten me or try to scare me.He truly has a heart & stands up and fights for the children, the protective parent, and for what is right.He is very matter of fact and gets the job done.Mr. Ducote has been a lifesaver for us!He stood up for us in court and made sure the truth was heard and my children were protected. Mr. Ducote and his staff are all very professional, knowledgeable, honest, as well as caring.They are truly a one of a kind law firm.I definitely recommend Mr. Ducote to anyone who is searching for an honest,trustworthy attorney. RID: 124631
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 8/11/13   5     5     5     5     5   Mr.Ducote is an old fashioned, elegant, brilliant attorney, who fights tirelessly for the well-being of the children involved in the case. He has always been a strong child advocate and will also advocate for the rights of the non-abusive parent. He is no-nonsense, cuts to the chase in every matter and stands up for what is right and just, despite his critics. It is of course a challenge to work with an attorney out-of-state and every single communication is not immediately addressed, but Richard is absolutely there when its significant for you and your child. He's not caught-up in the system and that is rare to find in this day and age. Highly recommend! RID: 121226
Read this rating's feedback
 
*
 11/28/12   5     1     1     1     1   Richard Ducote is lower than a common thief! He preys on desparate and vulnerable mothers, who are already being abused in the family court system. Richard Ducote took $15,000 from me and then did not answer phone calls or emails. When he did find the time to throw me a crumb, he was rude and arrogant.Richard Ducote did not do anything to help me, and actually hurt me because he offended my Florida lawyers, who then looked at me like I was crazy to send this man money! I was referred to RD through "protective mother's alliance international". Would not recommend them either. :( Richard said he would send me a partial refund, but of course he never did. Bascially the only thing this man seems able or inclined to do, is sing his own praises. No compassion for mothers or their kids. Dispicable! RID: 95742
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 9/17/12   5     5     5     5     5   Richard Ducote was hired in 2011 to defend a family member who is involved in a very lengthy and complicated child custody case. Domestic violence is at the core of the case. After two frustrating experiences with attorneys who did not effective deal with the domestic violence, Richard was the third attorney hired. From the beginning he put the domestic violence front and center. He believes that domestic violence needs to be treated for what it is, a crime. The family is extremely pleased with his handling of the case to date. He and his staff are very knowledgeable about the law, especially when it comes to domestic violence. He understands the dynamics of domestic violence and recognizes the difficulties abuse victims have in trying to get away from their abusers. He also sees abusers for what they are: narcissistic con artists. Richard is passionate about what he does and works diligently to give the abuse victim a voice. Richard and his staff are highly recommended. RID: 91631
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    6/16/12   The court heard testimony about the number of states that had refused to admit Ducote pro hoc vice. There was also testimony about the number of times Ducote had been sanctioned in state and federal courts across the country, and his filing bankruptcy to avoid payment of sanctions. The trial court denied Ducote's motion for admission. http://law.justia.com/cases/texas/fif... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     6/16/12   Much of the evidence presented addressed allegations that father had sexually and physically abused the child. A senior social worker with Child Protective Services (CPS) who investigated the allegations of physical and sexual abuse concluded that she believed the allegations to be unfounded. The other tharapists, in their opinion the child was being coached.http://www.courts.state.va.us/opinion... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/13/12   "The unanimous panel also slapped Loretta Wahl with an additional $15,000 penalty for filing an appeal that "raised completely and undeniably meritless arguments." Wahl's appellate attorneys, Richard Ducote of Pittsburgh, Pa., and Kim Robinson of Oakland, were also sanctioned $5,000 each." - http://www.dailybusinessreview.com/Pu... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/12/12   KALMANSON v. DUCOTE, No.?5D06-4283. - FL District Court of Appeal | FindLawSince 2000, this highly contested custody dispute has appeared in this court 13 times. ? Relevant to this appeal, in 2003, the trial court ordered Ducote (attorney for the mother, Donna Robinson) to pay the father's attorney's fees and costs as a sanction for Ducote's “bad faith” conduct related to: 1.? Making “frivolous objections” leading to extra expense in retaking a deposition; 2.? Using illegally obtained evidence; 3.? Asking immaterial and embarrassing questions in an attempt to intimidate a witness during her deposition; ?and, 4.? Placing father in a position where he was forced to seek emergency injunctive relief related to pre-trial publicity. http://caselaw.findlaw.com/fl-distric... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/27/12   Significant documentation about Ducote and his judgments, sanctions, and disciplinary actions was attached to the motion. The attachments to the motion also included the affidavit of an investigator retained to investigate a kidnaping in one of the cases in which Ducote was involved. The investigator stated that anytime Ducote is involved in a case, the parent and child are considered a high risk for flight from the court, not just because of Ducote, but because of the groups with which Ducote is involved. The motion further asserted that when Ducote is involved in cases, there is a pattern of false allegations of child abuse, the filing of multiple unfounded pleadings, and suing the attorneys, investigators, therapists, evaluators and ad litems appointed by the courts. http://law.justia.com/cases/texas/fif... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     3/22/12   5     5     5     5     5   My case is still pending, but I want to say, NO ONE and I mean NO ONE has worked harder for me to obtain a PFA against my ex and custody of my children than this office. I work with his associate Erica Burns throught he Pittburgh office and she is wonderful. She knows her stuff and goes the extra mile. They also are very very fair in billing and I was never overcharged and charged for work that was not done. In fact, I feel that have done MORE than what I have paid them for. They offer both legal support and emotional support during these trying times! RID: 66390
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/19/11   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     3/22/11   5     4     5     5     5   Richard Ducote saved my children's lives. They no longer have to visit their sexually abusive father even in supervised visitation. I spent 6 years stuck in endless litigation with my ex-husband even after he was adjudicated. He kept pulling me back into court endlessly in an attempt to bankrupt me. I hired Richard to file a civil law suit against him and miraculously all the corruption stopped. The judges, corrupt psychologists, counselors, etc. all stopped playing games. They knew they now had the spotlight on them and they could be held accountable. My ex agreed to no visitation in exchange for dropping the suit. We finally have had peace for the last four years and the opportunity to heal. Richard still checks in on my children and truly cares about their well-being. He is not an attorney, he is an angel in the midst of a naive and oftem corrupt court system. He attends the domestic violence conference every year to teach others how to defend mothers. Richard is a gem! RID: 42922
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     1/6/11   5     5     5     5     5   Brilliant! A Modern Gladiator. When confronted with the deepest level of corruption in Ohio Domestic, Florida and Ohio Criminal and Probate, Richard Ducote masterfully strategized and provided the documentation for each court. His knowledge and competence are incredible. I was fighting criminal corruption for ten years without hope. My handicap sons’ life was in true jeopardy. Richard’s expertise of law opened the doors of freedom for my son. Richard is a true master of law, an ethical fighter, a great communicator and just a top class person all the way around. His assistants Aubrey and Lisa are kind, understanding and fully supportive. I would never want to be in court again without Richard. It is a privilege to know this outstanding man and his team! RID: 39226
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     12/27/10   5     4     5     5     5   Ignore the negative comments on this site - Richard is the best thing that has happened to Family Court. In the midst of corruption and ignorance, he stands for what is right. I am convinced that the negative ratings are not from his clients - the problem is anyone can post here. After a "hired gun" psychologist used unethical practices (documented) to place our children with their father, Richard battled an imperfect system to honor the children's wishes and return them to their mother and I. In addition to being an incredible attorney, he is just a heck of a nice guy as well. What a class act! Bottom line, I have a Top Secret clearance and lead people every day - you can bet that I speak with authority. Don't trust the naysayers, Richard is every good thing that has been said about him. RID: 38849
Read this rating's feedback
     9/18/10   5     5     5     5     5   Richard is truly a modern white knight and my hero. He works tirelessly on behalf of child victims and for the women who are struggling to protect them. When I hired Richard after 2 years of using a local attorney (who behaved as if our case was a normal divorce) my tension finally relaxed and I knew, FINALLY, someone had my back because he GETS IT! He truly knows that the results of any order for a child has lifelong consequences. Thank you, Richard. RID: 34918
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/13/10   5     5     5     5     5   My child was taken from me after I presented medical and other evidence of abuse of my son by his father to the court. My attempts to protect my child were viewed as an effort to alienate his affections from his father. After ten years of supervised visits I finally recovered full custody of my child through the efforts of Richard Ducote. I attribute my success to Richard's skill as a lawyer (great at depositions, among other legal talents), his tenacity, and his deep commitment to the cause of protecting abused children. I will always be grateful. RID: 32254
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/23/09   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     1/22/09   3     1     1     1     1   I am a PA mother who paid Richard from my retirement account. He has not communicated, litigated, or done one thing for my case. My attorney here refused to work with him. Don't bet on this one - find a working attorney who is licensed in your state. RID: 15186
Read this rating's feedback
     5/4/08   SYSTEM: 4 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     1/26/08   5     5     5     5     5   I lost my children and my property due to the court's bias and prejudice against me. Richard Ducote is the only attorney out of a number I have had who was willing to speak the truth and to state the law requiring children be protected from abusers. It is the judge who is to blame for the children's plight and my continued pain and sorrow. RID: 7597
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     11/30/07   5     5     5     5     5   It is only due to Richard Ducote, this “God-on-Earth,” that I can finally sleep peacefully tonight with both of my precious young children by my side. Today, after over two years of constant nightmares, the judge finally decided to return the little ones where they belong, to their mother, and minimize the damage they suffered while in custody of their abusive father. Why? - The exact same judge who took the children away from the same mother after their father kidnapped them from her? – Only due to Richard’s deep understanding of the nature of the abusive man and the detrimental effect of his fathering for the children, due to Richard’s excellence in presenting the facts and the evidence, and due to his fearless assertiveness in protecting mothers and children from the abuse. Richard is not only superbly qualified and amazingly talented attorney, he is a Person with a caring heart, a selfless hard-worker, who is in courts, not for money, but for the right cause - to protect the safet RID: 6623
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     11/4/07   5     5     5     5     5   Richard Ducote saved my family and we finally have peace in our lives. Richard to finally put an end to a 7 year nightmare. Before he was on my case I spent over $100,000 on worthless representation. He will not sell you down the river. RID: 6315
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/5/07   5     5     5     5     5   I have been a client for over 2 yrs. & am extremely satisfied with the services provided by Richard. My calls are returned & he stays in close contact with my local attorney. Richard has never forgotten any detail about my case. As an attorney, Richard is brilliant, extremely ethical & honest; a rare combination these days. Does Richard have faults? Of course, we all do. But I would say Richard's might be that maybe he cares so deeply about protecting as many abused children as possible that maybe he spreads himself a bit too thin. Nobody in the world has the advanced skills to deal with these complex, horrific issues like Richard Ducote. I have the utmost respect for Richard and I don't regret for one second trusting him with my daughter's life. All I know is that I would rather have a little of Richard than no Richard at all. RID: 4764
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Pittsburgh, PA
Jeffrey Pollock - Pittsburgh, PA
Richard Ducote - Pittsburgh, PA
Lisa Marie Vari - Pittsburgh, PA