LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Stacy Ortega reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Stacy Ortega
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Stacy L Ortega Law Office
Website:  familylawwichita.com external link
Phone:  (316) 263-5900
Profile updated: 8/18/12    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 2.2 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

Attorney Stacy Ortega has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
The following ratings and comments have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    6/16/14   2     1     1     1     1   I have been using Stacy as an attorney for over two years now dealing with divorce and child custody I hired here on 200 dollars and hour then it changed to 225 and I was made to pay it after a year of being with her. She did the absolute minimum work, she never stuck her arm out for me not did she stick up for my to the other parties lawyer. She was trying to uphold a friendship or a reputation amongst him, not sure. She was a terrible lawyer for the money, she talks over you down to you and makes you feel so small you will leave at the end of the day feeling like an idiot. You can never get a straight answer and she never makes you feel comfortable in your case. So all in all no I would not reccomend her to anyone. RID: 138345
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/30/12   5     5     5     5     5   Stacy always kept focus on the child and what was in their best interest. I would recommend Stacy to anyone looking for a great attorney, LCM or Case Manager. Stacy always kept in contact and I always knew what was going on every step of the way. RID: 95840
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    8/27/12   3     2     1     1     1   Was appointed to work my case as LCM. After much missed communications and many mistakes later, she recommended that due to family, friends, stability, ect that staying with dad was the best option for son. However, she told the courts that the son wanted to stay with mom because she spent more time with him since she didn't have to work. So she recommended the move out of state leaving daddy to foot the bill.....again. Daddy gets to keep working while mommy sits on her arse and collects. Awesome system. RID: 90443
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/25/12   5     5     5     5     5   I have been with Stacy since 2006. She is an awesome person and an even better lawyer. She has worked with me in many different ways that other lawyers wouldn't have put up with on there best day. She is compassionate, professional,and prompt with whatever questions or concerns that I have or may come up with. I really feel like she cares! She is not in it for the monetary paycheck, she is in it for the well being of honest, truthful, hard working people. She will always have my business for as long as she wants to put up with me.I will continue to send her business. She has always charged me the same rate (200.00) from the day I hired her, it has never changed. RID: 77823
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/18/12   5     5     5     5     5   After reading these reviews I was concerned that I may have made the wrong decision in choosing my attorney, however, after some reflection, I am confident that I made the right choice. I have yet to send some of the things that she needs to get started on my case; rather than sit idly by, her office has contacted me once per week inquiring about the documents. This is evidence to me that contrary to the reviews on this site, her firm is on top of things. I thoroughly enjoyed my consultation with her. The room we were in was personal and comfortable and Mrs. Ortega did not belittle me. She was very friendly, confident, and respectful as well as knowledgeable. In addition, she was able to see me very quickly and works for an incredible price considering that she has 22 years of experience in family law. I saw that someone said she charged $400/hr, yet she actually only charges $200. I look forward to continuing to do business with her and have full faith in her as an attorney. RID: 74688
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/18/12   1     1     1     1     1   I was appointed to her as a Full CM. I have never felt so bullied and talked down to by a person in this position, especially that I am paying for. I read in the Wichita Business Journal that she was appointed to 45 CM cases last year. How does this happen. She does that absolute minimum on her end to help find any resolution between parents and always has an excuse. If you have the option, refuse her as a case manager unless you want billed for a sub par unending struggle, I guess I am never going to understand her middle school tactics or ways of helping. We were put in CM because of all the conflict and now it is worse than ever. Wow RID: 64202
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/3/12   1     1     1     1     1   I had her as a LCM and she did nothing to help my child. I thought that was the point of paying her 400 dollars an hour to do. I left both appointments bawling my eyes out because she just did not care about anything I had to say because she made her mind up as soon as I walked in it seemed. I do not recommended her at all as an attorney, LCM, or any thing for that matter. RID: 58059
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 11/11/10   1     1     1     1     1   I was assigned Ms. Ortega as a LCM. She wrote a court order concerning the splitting of our children’s expenses. After my ex wouldn’t follow the order I wrote, emailed, and phoned her for assistance in enforcing the court order. She refused saying she had family issues or more important cases (For two years!) When I asked why she wouldn’t help she got defensive and said I was making a threat and she was documenting it. I feel she was doing it knowing she can bully parents with this scare tactic. When my ex contacted her to get a copy of my insurance card (I wasn’t going to give it to her unless she paid some of the money she owed) Ms. Ortega jumped right on her request. Then I got a form letter to all the parents she represented the day after it snowed concerning the return of children in hazardous conditions, and got charged for it!. In the order she wrote we couldn’t file a motion with the courts to try to collect money unless we first went through her, but she wouldn’t do anything. RID: 37176
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/28/09   1     1     1     1     1   I concur with the previous ratings. She talked to a black women that came into her office seeking service, while I was there, in a most disrespectful manner. That was a good cue that I missed. After taking my money, I got endless excuses (her family issues) as to why my case was not moving. She bailed out on me because her assistant (ugh) claimed I called the office too much. I would call once a week for an update. RID: 18683
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/9/09   1     1     1     1     1   I had this lady appointed to me by the courts as a LCM. She never once listened to my side of the story. She was terrible! She ridiculed my religion which I believe Freedom of Religion is a Right and allowed my ex's attorney to badger her into believing his lies. What happened to doing what is best for the child isn't that what she is supposed to be there for? If she is requested by the courts I would ask for a different one pronto, because no matter what kind of evidence you have from schools, Doctors, Social workers, Friends and Family she will not stick up for you if she is being badgered by the other ones attorney! Get a back bone these are peoples lives you are effecting! RID: 16352
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    12/8/07   2     2     1     1     1   IF YOU DON'T WANT SUBSTANDARD WORK ETHICS AND A LAWYER THAT WILL PATRONIZE YOU TO THEN THROW YOU UNDER THE BUS IN FRONT OF THE JUDGE, THEN DO NOT HIRE THIS LAZY LAWYER .IN MY 15 YEARS OF EXPOSURE TO LAWYERS HERE IN WICHITA I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH REPULSIVE WORK ETHICS!IT IS INDEED A SAD DAY IN THE ANNALS OF LAW HERE IN KANSAS! RID: 6705
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Wichita, KS
Gerard Scott - Wichita, KS
Gary Patterson - Wichita, KS
Stephen Ternes - Wichita, KS