LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Gary Gerstenfield attorney reviews

Rate My Boss
Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Gary Gerstenfield
Attorney
Practice Area:  Criminal Defense
Firm:  Law Offices of Gary H. Gerstenfield
Website:  gerstenfield.com external link
Phone:  (301) 589-9500
Profile updated: 1/31/13    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

good quality
Rating: 5.0 out of 5 based on 33 reviews.

Attorney Gary Gerstenfield has an excellent overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Q: do you handle DUI cases?    Subscribe    Answer it

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
 
*
 4/3/13   5     5     5     5     5   Astounding Lawyer,I was being charged with a sex crime of indecent exposure for the second time, and Mr.Gerstenfield was very confident throughout the whole process. Mr Gerstenfield took it a step further and assisted me with spousal communication. I thought there was a chance that my entire life would fall apart, but when I went to court the judge dropped the charges. My situation may have been unorthodox but this excellent lawyer was not only very professional but proficient in the courtroom. A miracle worker, and he is worth every single cent. RID: 106051
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 12/4/12   5     5     5     5     5   I remember walking into Gary's office and sitting in the waiting room, nervous as hell. I was in college, didn't have a whole lot of money, and had a petty theft and assault charge against me. There were a few other men sitting in the room - loud, big tough looking guys. I somehow ended up conversing with them and they couldn't stop talking about how amazing Gary was. Mind you they were in for crazy ridiculous charges my mother would most likely disown me over. They said they all walked free or something along those lines and assured me I was in good hands. Anyway, to make a long story short Gary was amazing. He saved me so much time and stress and I walked away with nothing but a slap on the wrist, if that. Down to earth guy and very relatable. Wont sugar coat anything and I'll be damned if he isn't the most charming man in the court room. I hope to never have to come back again but if I do, Gary would be my go to. Fair prices, amazing results, great overall person. RID: 96087
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 7/3/12   5     4     5     5     5   Great lawyer got me from doing jail time when I blew my case talkin to the cops off a gun charge when it's mandatory to do jail time alsome lawyer RID: 73723
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 6/14/12   5     5     5     5     5   After going through court Gary was able to knock down my charge to transporting a handgun improperly. He was also able to get me a PBJ meaning Probation Before Judgment with no felony conviction, considering this was my first offense. I'm still going through some things due to this situation but it's better than serving time and Gary is always there to assist in anyway he can. He always returns my calls, responds anytime I contact him, and takes care of any issue that arises wether its big or small. I would definitely recommend him and use his services again if needed. RID: 72113
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/1/12   SYSTEM: 4 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating
*
 1/23/12   5     5     5     5     5   Gary is an outstanding lawyer!! He will guide you through whatever issue/charge you may be faced with. He is a remarkable and caring individual and will give you advice. He definitely helped me get my life together and lessened the charges I could've have received after getting a DUI. Thank you Gary and staff for all of your help. RID: 62473
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 12/16/11   5     5     5     5     5   I had charges from a Montgomery county cop which had a God complex and a attitude, he could have ruined my chances at getting my security clearance back and getting a job with the Govt. by putting me in jail over his stupidity and his feelings being hurt for the truth being told to him. Gary made sure the cop and the court did not ruin my life. Gary got me enrolled in a class which i did not need but was a required thing and community service which i did not mind since i was doing that anyway. Gary got the charges dropped and expunged from the records. his team from his office has a fast reaction time, and Gary and his partner are very fast thinking on their feet and knowlegable of the system. Gary even replies to his messages your leave as long as he is not in court. Gary tells you like it is and does not sugar coat it. His office staff is great in taking care of all admin papers that are needed and on time. RID: 57142
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 11/16/11   5     5     5     5     5   Gary Gerstenfield came recommended from a friend. I was facing felony charges of Intent to distribute marijuana among other drug charges. Hiring Gary was the best decision I could have made. In a very scary time for me he was reassuring, hard working, and driven. He immediately began fighting for me, and kept me informed of what was happening every step of the way. He always had a plan, and I always felt like he was genuinely devoted to helping me. His hard work and dedication resulted in the matter being settled before trial with simple possession and community service, as well as probation before judgement on the charge. Without him I would have likely gotten the felony, which would have ended with me being expelled from the University of Maryland in my senior year. He's a truly amazing lawyer, I highly recommend him to anybody in need of a serious lawyer who's ready to work for his clients. I can't express how grateful I am for all he did for me. RID: 55325
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    8/30/11   5     5     5     5     5   My son was charged with a serious felony of First Degree Burglary.He was facing a possible maximum prison sentence of up to twenty years!He was always available by telephone. Mr. Gerstenfield was professional, ethical, and hard working. He was proactive on the case, and when we had our court date, my son had already completed all of the things that the judge requested. He provided peace of mind and support with every step of the case.My son avoided jail time and received three years probation before judgment, and after serving one year of the PBJ, he had everything lifted for good behavior! My son was able to graduate, and now he will be able to get a job, join the military, and most importantly he has his life back and can move forward and put this behind him! (Just a note, the other young adult involved got a cheap attorney, and he is serving 18 months). We would strongly recommend Gary Gerstenfield and will be eternally grateful for his service! RID: 51092
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/13/11   5     5     5     5     5   Mr. gerstenfield is an amazingly effective and truly gifted litigator and advocate. There is no problem too great or dilemma too difficult that Gary cannot solve. Among journeymen lawyers, Gary is universally recognized as a master. But, what really distinguishes Gary as among the elite of trial lawyers is the warmth and compassion he brings in resolving the seemingly unsolvable legal issues that many his clients face. RID: 48478
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/29/11   5     5     5     5     5   I was involved in a really embarrassing crime.Gary H. Gerstenfield firm represented me.He told me that he would have my case thrown out.Court day came charges was dismissed,I didn't think it would happen like that. TK Gaithersburg Md RID: 46380
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/23/11   5     4     5     5     5   Gary Gerstenfeld an awesome lawyer; something I never thought I would say about any attorney. He is down to earth and honest. I located him on the Internet after receiving a DUI. He was responsible for giving me great advice and explaining what was going to happening. I was very fortunate to avoid any jail time and successfully completed an education program and presentation which greatly enhanced my knowledge of engaging in illegal activity and is reprecussions. On my court date, Gary was there, sat with me until my case was called, gave me great counsel about everything pre and post case) and everything turned out great! I am so appreciative of Gary's efforts and commitment to my case and for ensuring that I was well-advised. tjg RID: 46074
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/19/11   5     5     5     5     5   If you're looking for a great lawyer, Gary's your guy. I came to him three years ago in a panic with almost a dozen pending felony charges and he was everything dismissed but two counts. Almost three years later, I went back in to Gary and he got me a PBJ (probation before judgement) and this felony off my record. I now can apply for the jobs I want without having to answer "yes" to "have you ever had a felony?" - I can say "No!". He was very easy to talk to and knew exactly what to do to help keep me out of jail. He's a great guy and I would recommend him to anyone searching for the "best" lawyer. He IS the BEST! RID: 45942
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/25/11   5     5     5     5     5   Gary represented my husband in a case of violation probation resulting from mulitple serious charges. We felt like our luck had ran out in the MC court systems...but much to our surprise, my husband didnt recieve the jail time we really anticipated. Instead, he got only one weekend of community service! :) As stressed out as I was, I felt comfortable with Gary- his combination of experience, knowledge and confidence really showed in the courtroom and the outcome proved it. If you are in need of a lawyer, I highly recommend Gary Gerstenfield to represent you! RID: 44760
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/22/11   5     5     5     5     5   Gary & Rebecca are truly great lawyers. They helped me with a very embarrassing matter that would have destroyed my life. They were professional and supportive. Very quietly, they got the case thrown out and gave me back my life. I checked on Maryland Case Search and my name doesn't even show up anymore! Julian RID: 44669
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/22/11   5     5     5     5     5   Not only is Gary a really good lawyer but he is a even better person. Gary represented me in a theft case where my ID was being used to sell stolen property. Gary got the charges dismissed. Thank you Gary! Troy W. Columbia RID: 44660
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 2/2/11   5     5     5     5     5   Gary is the great lawyer in the world! I had a car accident in november. Police announcemented they will call me because of that accident and I received summons from court. I was afraid and nervous. I want antone help me. At that moment, I saw flyer from Gary Gerstenfield. Honestly I didn't think he can help me. However, I had no time. I had to find my lawyer on time. I decided to believe Gary Gerstenfield and I realized my decision was right. Gary helped me. He make me happy. If gary didn't help me, I will fail the trial and I would charge penalty. Now I can laugh by Gary. He is great lawyer. If I can, I would recommand him to my friend. Thanks, Gary! RID: 40483
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 11/14/10   5     5     5     5     5   Gary Gerstenfield is the best lawyer in the world! I was charged with a DUI after I struck a parked car. No one was hurt but me, thank goodness. But I had a broken pelvis and two fractured ribs. I was taken to a hospital where a blood test showed that I was a .24. I made a big mistake driving and I will never drivve after drinking ever again. It took a long time to recover. Gary told me that the blood test could not be used against me and he was right! Gary objected to the blood test which was really the only evedence against me. The charges were dropped. I will never do anything this stupid again, but having Gary represent me gave me a second chance. More than anything else, Gary has been a friend. He introduced me to Alcoholics Annonymous and I am going because I want to. RID: 37293
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 10/21/10   5     5     5     5     5   Gary is a great lawyer!!I was wrongfully accused of a hit and run by some crackheads who were looking to make a quick buck.They had the system fooled and I was facing the prospect of going to jail on some trumped up charges!!It could happen to you!!I contacted Gary and he proceeded to give me great legal advice and he was right on the case!Two months later we were in court and Gary shredded the other side to pieces!!I highly recommend Gary to anybody that needs a smart competent lawyer that's very familiar with the traffic court system.He's also down to earth and you can talk to him on a personal level.I highly recommend him!! RID: 36346
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     10/10/10   SYSTEM: 6 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating
*
 10/5/10   5     5     5     5     5   My son acquired the services of Gary Gerstenfield and staff in September 2010. They listened, explained clearly the circumstances each step of the way and were easy to contact when needed. They not only represented my son's issue but also made us the parents involved and gave there time to go every extra mile imaginable. We are extremely greatful and recommend there services highly. When future legal issues are needed we need look no further than Gary and staff. Thanks and we will continue to reference you to others we meet or who are in need of gold level legal sevice. RID: 35700
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     9/12/10   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    5/15/10   5     5     5     5     5   Gary was extraordinary in getting charges against me dropped on May 13 2010 at the District Court of Maryland for Montgomery County. On November 24 2009 I was issued a citation by police officers in the DC area and subsequently charged with "driving/attempting drive motor veh. on hwy w/o required license and authorization." I am a Liberia national, lives and work in Liberia and had entered the USA on November 23 2009. I was driving with my Liberian license. Gary represented me and although I arrived in the USA in the evening of May 13 and could not appear phisically in court, Gary was there for me and got the charges dropped. I am very grateful Gary. RID: 30342
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/6/10   5     5     5     5     5   Gary was incredible. I had a driving on revoked license charge with a lengthy horrible driving record including dwis, a previous driving on suspended conviction, and was still on probation. Gary got it all dropped down to just paying a fine and the advice given to get it removed from my record was wonderful. Next month it will be like it never happened. He is friends with all the prosecutors and they even give him advice how to get a charge fixed. RID: 29994
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/23/10   5     5     5     5     5   We had a quite incompetent lawyer in the first trial, so we were very cautious when looking for one for the appeal. We decided on Gary's law firm because it is the BEST we found after talking to several others. We were so impressed by Gary and Rebecca's efficiency and effectiveness. Gary is not only an IMPECCABLE lawyer (smart, eloquent, convincing, knowledgeable...), but a good friend who cares about not only the case, but also the well-being of his clients and their family. Every result was as he predicted. If you are still shopping around, don't hesitate. Go to Gary, and you'll not regret! You will gain a very valuable experience just by talking to him and hearing his stories. He is the one who will know better than you about your case and who will try his best to get you out of the mess. RID: 29544
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/14/10   5     5     5     5     5   I had success dealing with Gary and Rebecca numerous times. Very up front, and very organ ized. I had a possession charge and weapons charge, and the outcome was as good- no criminal record and totally expunged. I recommend using this firm, and surely would use them again. RID: 29250
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/27/10   5     5     5     5     5   I had a great experience with Gary and Rebecca. Gary got my charge dropped just like he predicted. I asked him if I could watch him in an actualjury trial and he said sure. In fact, some of his other clients were there as well. Gary is really funny but, in front of the judge he was very seriousand polite. All I can say is that he tore the prosecutors up! I think Gary is the best lawyer there is. I definately reccomend him. Charlie RID: 28665
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/8/10   5     5     5     5     5   We were referred to Mr. Gerstenfield from my brother-in-law. We had been trying to help our son who was facing a burglary charge. We didn't know what to do. We had met with another attorney who had represented us in a property dispute with a neighbor. He told us that he also handled criminal cases. The problem was that he didn't seem to have any plan. He kept saying, "I'll do anything you want me to do." OK, get our son out of trouble! It became very clear that he knew little about criminal defense. Then we met with Gary and it was totally different. He treated my son with respect and understanding. Gary listened to everything that had happened without interruption. Then, he pointed out things that our son hadn't even mentioned. Gary told us exactly what we needed. Which was basically, what was going to happen next. We weren't looking for a fairy tale, just explain the process. Gary & his staff were great! My son got a second chance by avoiding a record. Joanne B. RID: 26989
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/12/10   5     5     5     5     5   Gary was compassionate and understanding. He was recommended to me by a friend and boy was I saved. I was in a jam and a felony conviction would have meant losing my job, federal student aid, issues with immigration, and major stress on my health. He treated me with dignity and believed in me. Thanks Gary, you are one in a million. Carolyne RID: 26091
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/25/09   5     5     5     5     5   Gary and Rebecca are great. I was represented by Rebecca a few years back and had record expunged. Have a case in a couple months that I am very confident will go my way. very quick to communicate what courts are saying, etc. very professional, has giood knowledge of court cases, prosecutors, and judges. Would definatly go back! Ben RID: 24646
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/25/09   5     5     5     5     5   I found this site surfing the web. A year ago my son was represented by Gary Gerstenfield. He is truly the best lawyer in the world! My son was accused of first degree assault against an off-duty Montgomery County police officer. This happeded outide a club in Bethesda, MD. The truth was that the police officer was drunk and started a fight with my son. Gary found more than 6 eyewitnesses and made them come to court. Gary also made the hospital doctor come to court and explain about the police officer's injuries. The truth was that the police officer was intoxicated as proven by the hospital records and his biggest injury was to his wrist which the doctor testified was the result of fighting. The jury took less than 30 minutes and my son was found not guilty of all charges. The good thing is that my son now has a security job at National Airport! The bad thing is that the police officer still is a Montgomery County police officer. RID: 23544
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/24/09   5     5     5     5     5   Gary is a great lawyer and he is very good at what he does. Earlier this year I thought i was going to loose everything my job and my freedom my bond was $500,000. Of Course I waited for bond hearing, but when I hired Gary I knew he was the one. All charges were drop and he exposed some of the corruption in the P.G. police department. Thanks Big G..Allen Johnson Jr. RID: 23508
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/4/09   5     5     5     5     5   I really thank my friend Sarah for recommneding Gary an his law firm to be my attorney. I was cahrged with a crime that I did not do. Gary believed me. He never showed any fear or doubt. I guessed I had enoough for both of us. The case was dopped when Gary showed that the cell phone tower records proved where I was at the time that I was accused of being elsewhere. My record has been expunged and the nightmare is over! June E. RID: 22821
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/7/09   5     5     5     5     5   Mr. Gerstenfield has my families highest confidence!!! He worked across the nation to make a hard situation workable. His court presence alone was amazing. Gary treated my sons death with dignity and respect while working with my nephew who drove the car in the accident with the same dignity and respect. I would be proud to have him represent any member of our family but with luck we would rather have him visit montana! RID: 19873
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 5/25/09   5     5     5     5     5   gary is a great lawyer, always took my calls ,charged a fair fee and ended a legal night mere for me. I recommed him to my family and friends with confidence kathryn corrigan RID: 18599
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/5/09   SYSTEM: 6 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    3/22/09   5     5     5     5     5   I was very happy to finally get this case behind me! I was arrested for drunk driving by a Montgomery County police officer named John Romack. I learned later that all he does is drunk arrests. I could have been Osama Ben Ladden and all he would care about is whether I had "Ben Drinkin"! Anyway, Gary did a great job and I avoided a conviction. I recommend Gary and his law firm. Great job. Harry Roberts. RID: 16706
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     6/15/08   SYSTEM: 3 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Silver Spring, MD
Gary Gerstenfield - Silver Spring, MD
Deborah Boddie - Washington, DC
Stephen Brennwald - Washington, DC