LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Tahir Mella attorney reviews

Rate My Boss
Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Tahir Mella
Attorney
Practice Area:  Immigration
Firm:  Law Offices Of Tahir Mella
Website:  tahirmellalawfirm.com external link
Phone:  (215) 496-0690
Profile updated: 7/23/12    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 2.2 out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

Attorney Tahir Mella has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating
*
 5/21/14   5     5     5     5     5   It was great to have Tahir Mella's Law firm handle my case. We discussed with him our situation and asked him possibilities, and he was able to clarify things with us. It is expensive to hire an immigration lawyer but Tahir Mella was considerate that he agreed for staggered payment and thats what we did. we were delegated to his paralegals and they did good in filing and informing us with updates. Email and telephone communications were exchange for any clarifications.Now that I am approved and given my permanent status, I'm planning of using his firm for my children. Again, it maybe expensive, but it's all worth it. RID: 137138
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    12/19/13   5     4     5     4     4   I noticed the bad reviews and need to comment. This law firm has been in business over twenty years. I would guess there are about 25 new clients who engage this firm every week. Thats 1300 new clients a year. Over 20 years that's 26,000 clients. While I'm sure Mr Mella strives to make everyone happy 15-20 people out of 26,000 is pretty darn good. You will NEVER be able to satisfy everyone, but this speaks volumes about the quality of the work and the integrity of the firm! RID: 128723
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     9/12/13   1     1     1     1     1   RID: 123297
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/12/13   1     1     1     1     1   RID: 121258
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 8/9/13   1     1     1     1     1   Tahir assured us that our case was simple and should only take 3-4 months. It has been about 8 months and we are still in limbo with the end a minimum of 4-6 months from now. When I brought this up, he denied ever giving us a time-frame. After he got our money, we never saw him again as he relegated our case to one of his paralegals. Twice, we made appointments at his Reading office. The first, his associate came instead and the second, he cancelled. His paralegal only submitted about 1/4 of the evidence I provided for our case, which can result in a denial of our petition. He is extremely hard to get in touch with. I feel like I have to call or email constantly to get anything done. He encouraged us to lie about certain facts in our case, which, again, can cause a denial for us. Unfortunately, I was to naive at that point to question him. I am sure he won't care- he already has our money. I regret ever trusting him. He is dishonest and only cares about money, not his clients! RID: 121088
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/19/13   1     1     1     1     1   Esto va para todos mi gente latina..... No creen en Tahir en hombre q solo te va sacar dinero y no te solucionar mas bien te va a meter en la peor pesadilla de tu vida....un a?o y sigo esperando y me doy dando de cuenta q me han enganado y robado 8k y mi caso nunca abanzo y pudo hablar con el y nunca me lo pasan es lo peor q me ha pasado... Les pido a mi gente latina q no caigan en sus redes es un oportunista q se aprovecha de los latinos que tano nos cuesta nuestro dinero y para tirarlo a la basura porq eso es lo q el es un ladron junto con sus trabajadores y lo peor es q los hispanos trabajadores se prestan.... peor de una cosa se q Dios es justo y va hacer justicia:: RID: 118923
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     6/18/13   SYSTEM: location changed from Skippack, PA to Philadelphia, PA 
Click to report rating    5/23/13   1     1     1     1     1   All he can do is talk...when its time for your case to be handled he will send every associate he has.. There has been more than five people handling our case and none of them have a clue what they are talking about!! Bad business RID: 114359
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 4/2/13   "CONTRERAS v. ATTORNEY GENERAL OF UNITED STATES, No ... caselaw.findlaw.com › Caselaw › United States › US 3rd Cir. Jan 4, 2012 – Unfortunately, the Contrerases' former immigration attorney, Tahir Mella (who was not ... To make matters worse, the attorney Mella sent to the first removal .... had begu" - http://caselaw.findlaw.com/us-3rd-cir... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/25/13   4     1     2     2     2   I went for the consultation and to be honest I was very disappointed specially with the staff members. I honestly disliked the fact how the two staff members were talking about this one case in front of the people waiting and how they were expressing about it, including obscene words. To me that was very unprofessional. Also, I didn't received a good vibe from Mella; therefore, I went with my instinct of not hiring him. Plus he is very expensive when other good attorneys will charge half of the price for good quality and CONFIDENTIALITY. RID: 99192
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     1/16/13   1     1     1     1     1   On my own experience tahirmella is the worst lawyer I could hire. He is really good to tell that there is will there is a way when he knows that you don't have any opportunity to optain your paper. He tries to sign you up as quickly as possible, so you sign his contract which tell you that if you stop making payments you loose the case. Before you sing any documents with him informed your self with several lawyers to optain the best answer. Tahirmella is a Very dishonest lawyer I will never hire him again. RID: 98521
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/9/12   5     4     5     5     5   Worked very well with my family but its a very busy law firm so you have to be a little bit patient. RID: 92846
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    6/18/12   1     1     1     1     1   I met him once only. He told me he was capable of obtaining my husband his papers and we paid alot of money. After meeting him the one time we never talked or heard from him again. It was always his assistants practicing to become lawyers. We were told to continue to wait and wait. $ was fully paid but no outcomes. Husband was approved and i-130 and tld to wait for a 212 approval. Mella filed 212 willing & knowingly that there was no chance of my husband getting an approval. In the mist of our waiting my husband was pulled over for a simple traffic violation(light out over license plate)however he had no license so was arrested and then moved to ICE because all papers were not approved....contacted Mella and refused to help only if paid double the amount of what we already paid. Husband in cancellation removing s currently w/ new knowledgeable counsel. Mella refused to give any funds back and ICE themselves said what he filed shld nvr of been. Never Ever Hire TAHIR MELLA WORSE LAWYER!! RID: 72372
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/15/12   5     4     4     4     4   Mella is an excellent lawyer. His prices are not cheap, but he has a large qualified staff. They got our case handled not as quick as I would have liked , but that the Immigration system not the firm. Never had a problem getting a phone call returned. The price was steep but he gave me a payment plan. The end result was superb. I have read some of the comments and I can only guess they are bitter. SOme people are never happy and some cases just can't be won. You can try but success is not guaranteed. I'm just going to guess that these other people didn't get what they wanted so they decided to try their best to damage this atty. All I can say is we were more that satisfied not only with the outcome but in the way in which we were treated. I got sick and missed 2 payments. Mr Mella said, it's ok, it's not the end of the world. I liked that! RID: 70132
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/29/12   1     1     1     1     1   i been trying to get in touch with him after my appintment,i sent him an email with 8 questions and he said he needs me there in philadelphia to answer that when i told me in person he will do it by mail, no answer without money, all about money not even work, and money like half and half, all with him is about money BE CAREFUL EVERYONE RID: 66839
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/28/12   5     5     5     5     5   I dont agree with these people here said because I get a firsthand experience with Atty. Mella and he is ever so friendly and accommodating. He analyzes your situation and financial capability to pay his services and comes up with an affordable payment plan. You may have been able to contact him for we are not the only one he's taking care of, there are others in line waiting for his help too, but he always makes sure that somebody is there to answer all your queries. He knows what he's doing and he will definitely guide you to whatever you need to do and prepare before they can even file for you. Please don't give all blames to lawyers because in order for an endeavor to succeed, we have to do our part of the bargain too. For me, he and his office do their best to do what they need to do and give us the best services they have to keep us legal. So please, don't let a single comment tarnish his good reputation. You have to know him further and find out the way he works. Thank You. RID: 66767
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/14/11   5     5     5     5     5   I can only talk about my experience. All i can say is, when no lawyer wanted to take my case and help me, Mr. Mella did. What he did for me and my family was nothing short of a miracle. I will always be grateful. Lawyers are not gods. They also did not write the law. They do not make the final decision on whether you stay in this country or not. But, Mr. Mella did all he can and I am more than glad that i made the decision to trust in him. RID: 51734
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/26/11   5     5     4     4     3   I hired Mr Mella. he did a great job for my wife and several members of my family. No, he's not cheap but you do get what you pay for. Service was excellant RID: 40141
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/7/10   5     1     1     1     1   This lawyer is not reachable either by phone or email and takes months to respond to you if you are lucky. He has lost paperwork, delays processing of your paperwork, and will try to blame you for your lack of trying to reach him. He does not outline all of the costs up front and surprises you with additional charges. He is also unsympathetic to your situation and will respond with "there are others in your same situation". If had to do over, would never hire him. Although, knowledgeable of the immigration process, very unprofessional and unreachable. If you decide to still use him, be prepared for lost time and money. RID: 33101
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/4/10   1     1     1     1     1   Tahir Mella is the most unprofessional, insensitive, ignorant person I have ever met. He dealt with my case POORLY just like other people I have read on this site and other Lawyer sites he is rated on. He will not do the things you ask him too, unless you constantly contact the two offices he works at and they will do it, in there time not the legal time it takes, so be prepared to spend a lot of money and wait around until they deal with your case eventually. He hides behind his rude members of staff and constantly avoids you as a client, so even though you make the cheques out to him, you will not see or speak to him after that money transaction has been made unless you force your way in to there office or demand to hear back from him. I honestly didn't think it would be this way but it turned into a complete nightmare and if I could go back in time, I would pick another lawyer from another firm. This man tried to ruin my life. RID: 33003
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    10/29/09   1     1     1     1     1   A 1 is entirely to high of an score. A negative zero is more suitable. I feel my family was ripped off.For the past year my family has been up against a brick wall.No answers, consideration, communication, and definately poor work quality. Upon my loved ones court date, no one showed up to represent him and to top it all off the law firms phone is disconnected. My family and I do not know at this point if were duked. We are very saddened and do not know if my loved one will be deported because of this negligence. RID: 23712
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    8/4/09   1     1     1     1     1   I have been w/ this laywer for over 2 years, and has done nothing. Paid 8k and have had my case passed around multiple times, only spoke w/ the lawyer once during 1st consultation and never spoke or heard from him again. Said everything should be taken care of in a year, nothing has been done. My husband was taken in custody after being w/ me for 8 yrs and 2 daughters later and are being told by immigration that lawyer has not filed right paper work for our situation. Called lawyer and wnted another 8k. I cant beleive this and anyone else out there considering this office turn away trust me. I know have to find another lawyer and am doing my research. RID: 20724
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/5/09   1     1     1     1     1   I have read all the comments on this lawyer and they are abolutely right.This man gives a promising speach,blurts out his prices in which are way over priced for his services,then hands down the case to an associate that knows nothing about what going on.We are over 100000 dollars into this office and find ourselves worst off than we were at the start...DO NOT HIRE THIS MAN..we have been dealing with this office for at least a year and a half and never talk to Mr mella on the phone..Terrible personalized services...The associates that he past our case down to showed up at our interview,sat there like bump on a log, said nothing in our defense in which turn up another denial...Last office visit was to clear up clerical errors by his office which turn up another denial for my wife and instead of fixing this problem he blurted out additional fees.On contract, he is supposed to give back 1500 if the case wasnt fix and he tried to take that from us too he ruined our lives he will ruin yours RID: 19815
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     10/6/08   1     1     1     1     1   STAY AWAY FROM THIS GUY. HE SOUNDS SO INTELLIGENT BUT DOES NOT HAVE A CLUE ABOUT IMMIGRATION. HE CLAIMS TO BE ABLE TO HELP WITH COMPLICATED CASES. I DON'T EVEN THINK HE COULD HELP WITH A SIMPLE CASE. TRUST ME YOU DO NOT WANT HIM FIGHTING FOR YOU. MY SPOUSE WAS DEPORTED BECAUSE OF HIS NEGLIGENCE. RID: 12842
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/16/08   1     1     1     1     1   I gave this firm such a low rating because they failed to impress me on any level. At best, I feel we were mislead on time tables. At worst, I feel that our case was not given the time and research it deserved. Like the other post, our case was specific and complicated. This is why we chose to use a lawyer instead of pursuing our case on our own. I realize now that the firm had no experience with our type of situtation. I feel that it was unethical for them to even except our case in light of that fact. If you choosae this firm, please ask them if they have ever had experience with your circumstances in particular. If not, I suggest you find a diffrent lawyer. RID: 8563
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     10/22/07   3     1     1     1     1   This lawyer makes a good sales pitch, but then delegates all work to incompetent paralegals who delay everything and keep making mistakes. It's been a month since we spoke to the lawyer and our paperwork for Green card just got sent out. We had a lot of time restrictions and complications in our case, that is why we decided to employ this man's services, but looks like we're not going to make those time sensitive deadlines, despite him telling us otherwise. The office staff is unprofessional and seem illiterate. Do yourself a favor, pay a little more and get a real lawyer. This one is not worth it. RID: 6158
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Philadelphia, PA
Brad Sadek - Philadelphia, PA
Vincent Giusini - Philadelphia, PA
Chad Boonswang - Philadelphia, PA