LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Eric Baumstark attorney reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Eric Baumstark
Attorney
Practice Area:  Bankruptcy
Firm:  Baumstark And Vincent
Profile updated: 6/13/07    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

average quality
Rating: 2.9 out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

Attorney Eric Baumstark has a fair overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
     3/17/14   1     1     1     1     1   RID: 133854
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/15/12   2     1     2     1     1   Our Ch. 13 case was dismissed due to incorrect filing procedure.It was filed on the wrong form. Two addresses were used; we had to correct this ourselves. Financial repayment terms were denounced by the court as too low on the dismissal. When it was dismissed Baumstark admitted no responsibility and tacked on a large fee for additional work so our bill for services already rendered was considerably higher than quoted. We were told by Baumstark that he did not like one of us; his secretary spoke poorly of us also. Attorney Baumstark did not like answering questions, which took additional time as our case was complicated and we wanted to make sure we provided the information necessary. Another attorney appeared to represent us at the hearing and had not reviewed our case prior to the hearing. He said that he agreed with Baumstark that "Pigs get fed, hogs get slaughtered", which referred to us as hogs. Our new attorney filed Ch. 7, which was correctly filed and accepted. Buyer Beware! RID: 86367
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/1/10   5     5     5     5     5   Baumstark & Vincent is the BEST lansing area bankruptcy firm. I know both attorneys very well any negative comments posted have more to do with the general nature of what the firm has to do - advise people. Sometimes people don't like the choices before them and sometimes things are not within ANYONE's control. RID: 35539
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    12/6/09   4     1     1     1     1   Was hesitent after our first meeting and I should have heeded it. His office staff lost documents, was rude and called back at their leisure despite any urgency. Not to mention made things very rough for us when after having filed, issues came up and they took their sweet time. Never stuck up for us with the trustee, and in fact I have a feeling he led them to believe we were stonewalling. We had real emergencies that didn't fit our "budget" and not only did he not go to bat for us, it almost seems he went to bat for the trustee given their attitude towards us now. We SUFFERED for almost a year scraping by. When we meet with him he's too busy patting himself on the back to see no matter how many times he pecks at the calulator, things come up in the real world that don't fit a tight budget. DO NOT go to this man if you have to file and it's anything more than a simple file. He wants your check then wants you out RID: 24972
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/1/09   4     1     1     1     1   I agree with previous complaints. He is not concerned about anything but his reputation and his profit. Has basically "thrown us to the wolves" in our chapter 13. His office staff, especially the front desk-assistant, is extremely rude and condecending, they constantly are making clerical errors, and then charging us for their time to correct them. I do not recommend this office to anyone. RID: 21600
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/22/09   5     5     5     5     5   Eric and everyone in the office helped us through this difficult time . My husband lost his good paying job then I lost mine bills were piling up and no one willing to work with us we had to file bankruptcy. I was a loan officer and this is not what we wanted to do. Eric helped us thru our tough times. I would recommend him to anyone. Thank you Eric and everyone in the office that helped us thru this BAD time in our lives. RID: 20277
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/30/09   5     3     2     2     2   Did not fight for me in any way. Seemed to just be interested in being paid, and paid in advance for any moment spent. Allowed my husband to get 80% of our assets. RID: 16947
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/26/09   5     5     5     5     4   Eric has made my filing chapter 13 easy. He and his firm gave great information and support during this difficult time, making my decision work for me. I would recommend him to anyone facing this challenging decision. RID: 15308
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     1/19/08   4     4     4     4     5   Eric made sure that our interests were well looked after in 2000 to 2001 when our case was in effect. He correctly advised us to go for a Chapter 13 when our bills were piling up and I lost my union job. When I got laid off four days before Christmas in 2001, he helped us convert to a Chapter 7. I feel that he did a good job with the trustees and the judge considering our situation. Eric explained the law at the time, and what the costs were up front. He didn't make a lot of money from us, but his services saved us. I don't recommend bankruptcy if you can work with your creditors, but many times they will do some pretty shady things that are still within the law. Case in point was a bank that sold our case to a collection attorney, and tacked on $700 even after we paid them off. This was cancelled after our case went through. I would recommend him to anyone trying to manage their debts that have exhausted every other means. RID: 7373
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    6/13/07   4     2     1     1     1   In my opinion, Eric is a coward who would sacrifice the wellfare of a client rather than stand up and confront the trustees and judges and demand their compliance with the law and court rules. He will throw you over the side rather that offending the trustees' by defending your position virgorously (He is very jealous of his reputation as an attorney that keeps his clients quiet and complient while the opposition is taking advantage of them) . His primary concern seems to be maximizing his financial success while doing as little for his clients as possible. I do not recommend Eric to anyone. RID: 4414
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website

Best Rated Attorneys near Lansing, MI
Nick Leydorf - Lansing, MI
Scott Grabel - Lansing, MI
Jared Austin - Lansing, MI