LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Seymour Markowitz reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Seymour Markowitz
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Markowitz Law
Profile updated: 6/23/13    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 2.1 out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

Attorney Seymour Markowitz has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    7/11/13   5     5     5     5     5   I have sent 5 people to him and I have been there Twice and would go back again. RID: 118365
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/11/11   1     1     1     1     1   All of the positive ratings here are FAKE! Hey Seymour, stop posting nice things about yourself. You know it's a lie. Or are you having your daughter do it for you? You make me sick. Talk about "jewing" someone. This guy is a con. RID: 54974
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    8/13/11   1     1     1     1     1   Seymour represented me in a change of domicile request. He was not prepared at all and was working on 3 other cases while we were waiting for my case to be called. He wasn't prepared for my case and couldn't answer important questions that the judge was asking him. He openly admitted certain things about me that helped my ex gain an advantage in the case. He is a joke in the courtroom and often tries to put on a show to take away from the fact that he isn't prepared. I got none of what I asked for and he told me this was a slam dunk case. Run far far away from this guy! He's a joke! RID: 50156
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    6/11/11   5     5     5     5     5   He settled my divorce in 2003, I got what I was suing my EX for. The Fee was much lower than other attorneys. Fast, consise, and to the point,He has a very likeable demeanor, and I had to wait on nothing. RID: 46985
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/26/11   5     4     4     4     4   I was referred to him over 20 years ago and he was professional, efficient and true to his word. He told me it would take 6 months to complete my divorce and 6 months 2 days later, it was done! I have referred him to many friends and family who have been just as satisfied. RID: 46263
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/29/11   1     1     1     1     1   A money-grabbing clown with no social skills, ethics, or morals. If these ratings started at zero, he would get all of them. Seymour's services are cheap and so is his performance. He told my ex-wife she wasn't pretty or young enough to find or keep another man, which pissed her off even more. The guy is a jerk by ALL accounts. He has a pic of Albert Einstein in his office because Seymour looks just like him. Spend a little more and hire a decent att'y; one who actually cares about you and your situation. Seymour gave me NO time to read documents, then told the judge he didn't understand why I wouldn't sign them. He's an incompetent ass who avoids court arguments at YOUR cost because he couldn't care less and knows he will be paid, regardless. I have to admit, he was my att'y, and because of his stupidity and inept legal language, I came out smelling like a rose. Seymour had no clue as to what he did. She ended up with 8% (not 50%) spousal support from a long-term marriage. RID: 40303
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/14/11   1     1     1     1     1   I hired his daughter and ended up being represented by Seymour. Perhaps the worst experience of my life. Be advised that in the past, he did not carry malpractice insurance. If you sue him for malpractice, good luck trying to collect. He has a history of bankruptcies, due to malpractice losses. Winning a case against might be easy, collecting may be a different matter. In my opionion, he is not fit to represent anyone at any time. In my opinion he has far too many mental problems to be able to act as a competent attorney and I don't think he's very bright either. Maybe he is but way too troubled, in my opinion, to be effective in legal matters. I did file a greivance against him and was woefully disappointed by that entire process. They had a "secret" review of the case and called witnesses without even letting me know about the hearing. I had no chance to rebute a single thing or and was never contacted with any questions. All and all I would run from this guy. RID: 39577
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/26/10   1     1     1     1     1   He tries to belittle his clients. I hired his daughter and she never returned my phone calls. I had to deal with him much of the time. They failed to include a judgment in my bankruptcy. When I asked him why, he responded with "why don't you ask me if my daughter went to the bathroom yesterday." These people are sick, rude, unprofessional, money hungry and to top it off...they don't carry malpractice insurance. They have been grieved several times and have even been suspended by the board. I retained another attorney, as I do not ever want to see their faces again. I will be filing a MAJOR grievance. RID: 32675
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    6/15/10   3     1     1     1     1   This man is a horrible attorney. He failed twice to show for a child support hearing, which resulted in additional attorney fees for the opposing party. According to his client, this was a tactic used by Mr. Markowitz with the goal of making the case too costly for the opposing party to continue to pursue. It worked and as a result, his client was able to get away with paying pennies for the support of his child. RID: 31342
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/16/09   1     1     1     1     1   EXTREMELY UNPROFESSONAL!! His daugther represented me in court and she showed up 4 minutes before my case. They NEVER return phone calls and so I would go there to meet in person because they did not return my calls. I could have (and should have) done all of the filings myself. Divorce is a subject area that is very stressful on both both parties involved. They did not project any sort of sympathy and or enpathy. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND either the daughter (Carolyn) or the father Seymour. He looks and acts very unprofessional. As said by other people rating him, he DOES LOOK LIKE A CLOWN!!!! Bozo the Clown has a more professional look! FOr laughs, go see him for yourself. During the trying time, you can at least take your mind off your situiation and laugh at him. I wouldn't be surprised if he is dis-barred one of these days. He leaves you more confused after leaving his office than anything (and I came in with a litnay of questions written down before going.) RID: 22156
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    9/14/09   5     3     4     4     5   I have used Seymour several times and had very favorable outcomes for all of my personal concerns including custody and child support. My ex-wife stated after our case was over that, "I didn't do very well at all in this divorce". His is a little crude in his approach, but I;m not looking for a friend to talk to, I;m looking for an attorney that will get the job done quick and inexpensive, both of which he did for me. RID: 22063
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 6/17/09   1     1     3     1     1   Highest rating is for his tenacity, but he wastes his "teeth" biting into his clients and pissing of the judge. Once advised me to stay home because I was tardy for a court date, then went before the judge and claimed that he didn't know why I wasn't there! (My ex-husband called and told me all about it)Once he collected my money, not much else happened. He told me that I would be awarded physical custody of my daughter and that my husband would have supervised visitation, and that didn't happen. He has a secretary that screens his calls for him, and he refuses to return phone calls. Hiring him was a mistake, and I remain prayerful that my daughter won't suffer the consequences of my poor choice. RID: 19234
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/20/09   SYSTEM: 3 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    4/16/09   1     1     1     1     1   After our divorce was final. We had to hire another attorney to undo the mess he left us in. Ignored everything we discussed in his office. Now claims to have no knowledge of very important things we discussed. New attorney says wording of divorce papers was poor. Very rude and would not recommend this firm to anyone. RID: 17452
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/20/08   1     1     1     1     1   I won my court case and had joint legal and physical custody of my child. This was MY attorney he walked out of court during the case. Did not file my win so FOC did what they felt was best. Took all my money did not return it and I guess I lost joint physical custody! RID: 13833
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Bingham Farms, MI
Aric Melder - Royal Oak, MI
Jason Kief - Southfield, MI
Claude Beavers - Berkley, MI