LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Lawyers and Attorneys


Michelle MacKay ratings

Add a picture of this lawyer Save this listing Search again
Michelle MacKay
Lawyer
Edmonton, AB
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Mackay Michelle L
Phone:  +1 780-425-9777
Profile updated: 8/6/12    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

average quality
Rating: 3.2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

Lawyer Michelle MacKay has a fair overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


New! - Questions and answers about this lawyer

Submit a news article that mentions this lawyer Rate this lawyer
The following ratings and comments have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    11/24/13   4     4     4     4     4   I spoke in anger in my previous comment and would like to back pedal a bit. I completed my trial representing my self and won. I have to give Michelle credit for the affidavit that she helped me compose and filing all the necessary court documents. Without it, I would not have been as successful. I would have liked it if she was more flexible with payment options so that I wouldn't have gone through the stress of self representation. RID: 127576
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     10/25/13   3     4     1     2     1   Michelle was referred to me by both a very reputable lawyer and judge. While I began my process optimistically, my experience with Michelle left me with a very bad taste. I spent over $5000 for a whole bunch of nothing, and at the end of it all... she didn't finish her job or change my situation in the slightest. Now I am left alone to represent myself for the trial because she spent $1500 for a chit chat with the plaintiff that, like I said before, accomplished nothing! And so, the money kept hemorrhaging, and when I ran out of money she dropped me. Apparently,half the retainer is not good enough to hold her off for a week (even though I offered to pay the other half in the week following). My impression of Michelle is not good to say the least. I reached out to her to her with empathy, and when I am left in financial ruins at the peak of critical situation, she reverts to a stereotypical money hungry lawyer and I'm hard pressed to find someone with a sense of duty or humanity. RID: 125872
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/7/13   5     5     5     5     5   Thank you Michelle! Effective, educated cross-examiner, leaves her mark. Just be human as a client, and she'll have your back. RID: 122903
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/22/13   4     3     3     4     3   I tried to leave a comment, but it got erased and I got a message that negative reviews aren't allowed to be left for this lawyer unless you were logged in. SO DO NOT BELIEVE ALL RATINGS ON THIS SYSTEM, because I have not left a rating before, and it is not fair that I need to create a profile! I found this lawyer rude and arrogant. I really wanted help, but he was playing mind games. Ishebis all about money and nothing more DO NOT GO TO SEE HER!! RID: 98874
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     1/20/13   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    1/12/13   5     5     5     5     5   My husband and I have watched Ms. MacKay in action for a while and our respect for her - both her person and her ability as a lawyer - has grown by leaps and bounds! She is honest, very knowledgeable, caring, hard working, and direct in her approach. Should you need a family lawyer, we highly recommend Michelle MacKay! RID: 98271
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/10/13   5     5     4     5     4   I'm in the middle of it right now, trial COQB. Michelle's been my representative for over 2 years, I am posting this review 2 days into a 4 day trial which is a 4-year summation of events. Say what you want, as I will here. It has been incredibly expensive. Nothing comes cheap in family law. It takes two (client, me-lawyer-Michelle) to make a team. I am very glad, and very lucky I would say, to have Michelle representing me right now, and again I say this prior to the outcome. The review is less dependent on the outcome its about attention paid in an unbeleiveably difficult convoluted case. Michelle has in my case more understanding of what is going on that I do, and I have lived the experience. Like I said, it takes two (client-solicitor) to make a team. Michelle has done more than I expected she would be able to in my case thus far. RID: 98103
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/5/12   5     4     5     4     5   After spending 2.5 years with a "dabbler" representing me, it became very clear right away that Michelle MacKay knows her law. I am a single mother of two and won my mobility case after only a mere 1 MONTH of taking my file. She was able to denounce sited cases due to dates - she man handled the highly paid opposition and was forthright and honest about what to expect. The judge asked HER how to settle the logistics of my case.... She's known and respected. It's easy to hate your lawyer when you lose a case you should have never fought.....if you don't want to lose half, don't get married - if you lose half, that's the law, not your lawyers fault? If you can get in to see her, do so - but good luck, she's good and she's busy....judges have their own opinions too as I've seen too many times... It simply doesn't matter what the lawyer says anyway! Good luck out there, stop fighting and rebuild - THINGS can be replaced... Cheers! RID: 90975
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     6/15/12   2     3     3     2     2   RID: 72159
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/27/12   1     1     1     1     1   VERY POOR LWAYER UNLESS YOU WEAR A DRESS AS WELL. COST ME OVER $25,000 AND THREE YEARS, ALL I GOT WAS A BUNCH OF ADJOURMENTS AND NO FURTHER AHEAD THEN WHEN I STARTED. HIRED A MALE LAWYER AFTER AND GOT THINGS DONE RID: 68741
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/12/12   4     1     2     5     1   It did not seem that she was always doing things in my best interest. She never forwarned me of how things could go wrong and they always did seem to go wrong..I never felt that she was fighting for me just giving in to whatever happened. We had communications issues with each other . I found her communications with the other lawyer loosly worded.She could not advise the best course of action when we got into a bind. Her case preparation and presentation was good.My case was difficult. RID: 67660
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/20/12   3     2     2     2     2   I'm not impressed with this lawyer. I have had her for approximately 1 year, spent $20,000. I feel she backs down to senior lawyers and doesn't request or stand up for my needs and forgets who this is all about, a child. RID: 66165
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/17/11   5     4     5     5     5   Sorry to hear that a few of you did not get the results you expected. In my situation by listening to Michelle and not reacting in a manner that may not have been appropriate I came out way ahead. Michelle is firm, smart and tough she has respect from senior lawyers and has rose up quickly. I will leave you with this, if you are a male seeking your rights she is the one to have on your side. RID: 42712
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/14/11   4     3     3     2     1   Would not recommend Michelle MacKay unless either you have lots of money or want to spend lots of money. RID: 39625
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    8/13/10   5     5     5     5     5   Fantastic lawyer! After an 18 year marriage I didn't give away the farm.Michelle ALWAYS got back to me in a timley manner. Her assistants are also fantastic. As a male getting divorced there are so many horror stories. Michelle took care of my interests while informing me of what the law was. Professional, courteous, empathetic yet firm. She and her firm are not good...they are Excellent!! I highly recommend Michelle Mackay! RID: 33344
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/14/10   2     1     1     1     1   I am very dissatisfied with Ms. Mackay's performance. My expectation was a timely and fair matrimonial settlement. After more than a year of stalling and billing me for activities that had little value, I felt the settlement very one-sided. My ex got 50% of my assets after a short term marriage (no children and minimal financial contribution). The expression "gave away the farm" best describes how my case was conducted. RID: 30314
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/20/09   2     1     1     2     1   Misses key componenents, very partial to the female side, not willing to fight for what is right for the family, gets pushed around very easily by more senior lawyers RID: 18479
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this lawyer

Add these ratings to your own website

Best Rated Lawyers near Edmonton, AB
Ali Moughel - Edmonton, AB
Senia Tarrabain - Edmonton, AB
Hu Young - Edmonton, AB