LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Jerry Kiriak reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Jerry Kiriak
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Jerry Kiriak
Phone:  +1 780-944-1777
Profile updated: 7/30/12    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 2.1 out of 5 based on 21 reviews.

Attorney Jerry Kiriak has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
The following ratings and comments have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    3/9/14   1     1     1     1     1   I wish I would've seen this site before I hired Mr.Kiriak. Right off the hop I had issues with even getting a response to my initial contact with this firm (number one red flag I ignored). I was given an appointment time and then spent over 45minutes of that appointment in the waiting room only to get 15min of his time and be billed for an hour. The billing department is not exactly competant. I had addressed several issues regarding the billing that were never corrected and blown off by Mr.Kiriak. When in court Mr.Kiriak couldn't remember my name and did not advise me when I assisted in submitting documents that were harmful to myself. In the end I felt very underrepresented. I paid a small fortune to this man's firm and they did not live up to any level of professionalism. My calls and emails were rarely if ever returned and overall I recommend you look elsewhere as I have had to do. RID: 133504
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/11/14   5     4     4     4     5   Happy with service and outcome od my divorce. Jerry was very helpful all the way. RID: 130178
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/20/13   5     5     5     5     5   Jerry Kiriak was referred to me by a friend who said that her Father would not have made it through his divorce without his support and legal advice. I personally don't like attorneys but as I began my divorce I knew I would have to turn to someone. From the moment I entered Jerry's office, his staff was professional and caring putting me at ease. In my consultation Jerry gave me his full attention in order to completely understand my situation. I was certain when I left that day that he was the man to represent me. Prior to court I was extremely stressed and was amazed when my phone rang in the evening and it was Jerry checking on me no longer during business hours but on his personal time as I could hear his daughter in the background. I knew then that Jerry was not only an excellent attorney but a caring family man as well. My divorce is behind me now but to all those who may have a divorce in front of them, Jerry Kiriak is the attorney to represent you. Thank you Jerry! AH- RID: 127383
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/22/13   3     1     1     1     1   My fiancé and I have recently bought a home. This is by far one of the most unprofessional lawyers office’s to go through. VERY LONG story short… My fiancé went to pick up the cheque for our renos, today. They did NOT ask for ID. And when my fiancé asked if they wanted to see it, the lady responded with no that’s fine. She has never met my Fiancé before and has no idea who he is. This is a very large cheque that should not be handed over to anyone. Unfortunately this was a “small” issue we have had when dealing with Jerry Kiriak Law. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy. BRUTAL! RID: 119052
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/26/13   3     1     1     1     2   I went to Jerry in 2011. Now in 2013 I'm still married. Had a custody hearing in April 2012, still don't have my paperwork from that. He breach client / lawyer confidentiality several times and ignored me when I tried to address it. I had to send him three emails and make numerous phone calls to get him to read and respond to those emails. Spent countless hours telling him everything only to have him show up for court asking me to tell him all over again. Refuse to ask the judge for help with my childs extra curricular activities. Dropped the ball constantly when my ex wouldn't agree to something. No activity for weeks or months at a time. After my court date in April for child custody I asked him to get the divorce paperwork done so that I could sign. Almost a year later, nothing. I've had to switch lawyers and waste more money on another retainer etc etc etc. Wouldn't even recommend this lawyer to my ex!! RID: 103683
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/15/12   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    2/10/12   3     2     2     1     1   It is true that you get what you pay for and from this firm you get very little. Him and his staff made what was to be a routine property purchase into a a nightmare which req'd further litigation (by others) to make right. A definite thumbs down for this "professional". RID: 63645
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    12/19/11   5     4     5     5     5   When I first Met Mr.Kiriak, I thought he was a Jerk. He is very hard to read, very direct , very to the point and gets angry with you if you dont remember specifics. However having an even worse lawyer previously I stuck it out. We went to court and I found Jerry to be very knowledgable , he did fight for my point of view, and I believe the judge appreciated his "straight to the point" arguments. Even though he has very "different" interrelational skills and communication, he is good at what he does. I can say that up to this point I am very happy with the way he handled my case. I recieved a bill in the end for $5000.00 and My Ex recieved a bill from his lawyer for $20000.00 so I can also say wothout a doubt he is very reasonably priced . RID: 57329
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    12/4/11   2     1     2     2     2   My first impression of him was that he would be good but as time went on he never seemed to know what was happening. His assistant knew more than he did and at least she returned my calls. RID: 56397
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/25/11   1     1     1     1     1   How do you even rate a lawyer whose waiting room is a couple of chairs between 2 outer doors? He is a paper pusher who constantly sends out an exorbitant amount of useless affidavits just so he can bill you for them. Before you're even finished your meeting he'll all of sudden say he has to leave - hey, he's paid by the hour on my dime. His understanding of family law leaves a lot to be desired. I would definitely not recommend him. RID: 53957
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/8/11   1     1     1     1     1   He gave our trust money to the other lawyer, won't return phone calls, and never fights for his clients. RID: 52985
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/19/11   1     1     1     1     1   stay away this is the worst lawyer ive ever worked with,all he cares about is dragging divorces out to make him self richer,ive spent over 20000 in a year and havent got anywhere but further in the hole,,when in court for me he forgot what he was fighting for and i got nailed to the wall when he had all the info he needed but failed to argue our points with the other lawyer,,he loves to send paper work to the other lawyer and argue back in forth in that matter which the costs are ridiculously high but i guess thats an easy way to get someones bill up high fast,,all in all very unprofessional and now that i ask around the law community in the city they have nothing nice to say about him and hear stories like mine more and more i just have to say please STAY AWAY and save yourself alot of stress and grief,,divorce alone is stressful and adding a lawyer like him to the mix is enough to make most people mentally breakdown RID: 51992
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/14/11   1     3     1     2     1   Honestly, my experience was awful!!! He got lost at one of our court days, and I had to send a friend to go search for him because trial was going to be late. It wad very embarrassing. He was unprepared, annoyed the judge, and didn't fully understand my perspective or situation enough to make strong statements. I was so angry at the end of this process. Awful awful awful DO NOT RECOMEND!!!! Could go on and on about many negative experiences with him. DO NOT use in custody cases (and I'm the mom in this situation!) RID: 48518
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/5/10   5     3     4     4     5   Jerry acted as my diviorce lawyer and when my ex acted as his own and let his anger guide him than his head jerry didn't tolerate it, then when my ex did get legal councel things went even better. Jerry knew it was going to be a very bitter divorce and as far as i am concered he may be small in stature but he come across as a pit bull in court and didnt let the ex run me down , walk all over me, and as far as i am concered even though i ate 25,000 in maritol debt i truely walked away for the better. RID: 36968
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/3/10   1     1     1     1     1   A very incompetent lawyer with poor legal knowledge. He is also very greedy and only interested in aquiring clients only to do nothing for them. Over charges on bills so look through your bill, it sure will have intended mistakes! Stay away if you want to get anywhere with your legal matters. RID: 36863
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/25/10   2     1     2     1     1   Every single time I attend at his office he seems to have no idea what is going on with my file and every single time I phone his office, I have to leave a message and have yet to receive a return call. His receptionist is very rude and abrupt on the phone and needs help with her customer skills. I think his assistants know more than he does. I am also appalled with copies of correspondence that get sent to me, as I have found errors in every single one of them. Not impressed at all and will NEVER recommend this office or this man to anyone I consider a friend. Very money hungry though as demands for payment were the only thing I received promptly from this office. RID: 35260
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/20/10   1     1     1     1     1   Extremely unhappy. I had him handle a house purchase and everything was mishandled. Terrible communication and customer service. Made no effort what so ever to resolve issues. We have recommended to all to avoid this office! RID: 30518
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/17/10   1     1     1     1     1   The only documentation that was properly presented to me was my bill!!! Jerry seldom returned calls and rarely knew about my file or what I was talking about when I did reach him. I would not recommend this lawyer to anyone that I liked. RID: 30401
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/18/10   1     1     1     1     1   Very inefficient and lacking knowledge or drive. Not aggressive enough to be a lawyer! Had child support order in his office for 5 months before sending it to court house for signing, meanwhile i was told he never recieved it! Don't waste your money! RID: 26286
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/21/09   5     5     5     5     5   Other reviews wrong! In past two years I have bought/sold 8 properties and the conveyancer was awesome!! No probs whatsoever!! Great service!! And I sat in the admittedly small waiting room but never saw any files with names on them!! Mr. Kiriak acted for me in a family Trial and won custody for me!! He is very tenacious and I got great service!! Some calls were not returned but I understood that was because he has a very busy practice and was patient. He communicated frequently with me by email which was great!! Will definitely use him again!! RID: 23402
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/3/09   2     1     1     1     1   We refinanced our mortgage through him and recieved poor service, very poor communication, it took 2 weeks longer than it should have and they lied(miscommunicated) to us about not recieving paperwork from our mortgage company when they actually had recieved it. RID: 22784
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/24/09   2     2     2     2     2   I was not impressed that the waiting room was actually the smallspace between 2 double doors and that clients files with the name shown clearly on the spines of the folders were in clear view from the witing room and in his office. Obviously confidentiallity is not that important in this office RID: 20390
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website

Best Rated Attorneys near Edmonton, AB
Ali Moughel - Edmonton, AB
Senia Tarrabain - Edmonton, AB
Hu Young - Edmonton, AB