LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Joshua Carpenter reviews

Attorney Joshua Carpenter

Save this listing Search again
Joshua Carpenter
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Carpenter Law
Website:  carpenterlawnm.com external link
Phone:  (505) 243-0065
Profile updated: 7/31/12    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 1.8 out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

Attorney Joshua Carpenter has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
The following ratings and comments have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
 
*
 9/18/13   1     1     1     1     1   This was the worst experience I have ever been through. The first attorney I spoke with assured me that it shouldn't cost more that $2000- $3000 to finish this case. I show up to my hearing and have no clue who I'm talking to. Mr. Carpenter changed attorneys on me and did not let me know. I waste 15-20 min having to explain my case to this new attorney who was fresh out of college. Not what I was paying for! I let Mr. Carpenter know this and he assured me that he would be the attorney assisting me on my case from now on. To my surprise at my next hearing Mr. Carpenter is no where to be found. He, again, stuck me with a new lawyer, never met them before, had to spend another 15 min telling her about my case. Now we are $6000 in the hole and have nothing to show for it!! Save yourself the stress and money, Do not work with them! RID: 123692
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 7/28/13   1     1     1     1     1   Mr. Carpenter charged an outrageous amount of money for the work he actually did (or didn't do). He let the opposing counsel make me look like an idiot in court and did nothing but stand there. He also left out crucial key information when he went back to court the next day (after my initial hearing which I was NOT informed about nor did anyone inform me that I was to allow my exes grandparents take my child until it was the day of). All of this was decided without my consent even though I had voiced my concerns with grandparents visitation quite clearly. What an expensive mistake I made hiring this excuse for a lawyer!! He was definitely not worth the $6000 I wasted on him. Steer clear of this unethical waste of money--he will not help you but has no problem charging you for any little thing he can!! My new lawyer also informed me he was recently sanctioned as GAL for another case, in which his partner was involved. Major conflict of interest! UNETHICAL to the CORE!!! RID: 119565
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     4/24/13   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     4/5/13   4     1     1     1     1   For the outrageous bill i received, there was little to no representation or results of any kind that were promised. I heard a lot of tough talk and promises but no follow through. The one and only appearance he made to court, we didn't even get to go before.a.judge. He spoke privately with opposing counsel and came back over an hour later with a new order that was exactly like the old one despite the fact that i complied with all the orders. My case was then transferred to a new attorney who was all talk as well. Despite the fact that the money in my retainer account had long been depleted, they continued to charge me for anything and everything under the sun and were NOT sending me monthly statements/invoices until there was a balance of well over two thousand dollars. Very unethical bunch of characters. RID: 106447
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 2/4/13   5     1     1     1     1   Under investigation for conflicts of interest and practice. He has been photographed and filmed being romantically involved with an Albuquerque Family Court Clinic Evaluator. The investigation has compiled evidence that will show the Lawyer and Psychologist working as a team in order to affect Case results in their financial favor. Families are being unfairly destroyed for financial gain. RID: 99876
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
 
*
 12/5/12   1     1     1     1     1   This attorney does not say anything in court.He will not stand up for you.He says he will but he won't.And he will just keep charging you money for not doing anything.When I was in court with him before and after hearings he will charge you for the time, but he only talks to the opposing parties.Very unethical and dishonest, stay away from him. RID: 96193
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     12/2/12   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     6/6/12   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
 
*
 5/8/12   5     5     5     5     5   I have been Josh's client since 2010 and in all of my dealings with him have been accomadated wonderfully! Any time I have had a question, concern or problem he has adressed them promptly. Mr. Carpenter has accepted responsibility and made corrections if I ever had a problem. Even going so far as to correct my bill accordingly. He is very fair, concise and fights for me and what I want/need. Nobody is perfect but if they willingly correct the imperfections you know you can count on them to do what's right. He has been very dedicated to my case, even reviewing things on his vacation. I would reccomend Carpenter Law to anyone but my Ex. In fact I have enlisted him in more than one case and couldn't be happier! As long as he in practicing I will use him for all of my legal needs! RID: 69536
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     3/7/12   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     2/14/12   2     1     1     1     1   After my initial consultation, I felt that Joshua Carpenter was the right man to get the job done. That's what he promised and said everything he needed in order to get my money in his hands. After he was hired I found it very difficult to communicate with him, there were several errors in paperwork that was to be filed (spelling, facts, grammar, dates, etc). During the one and only hearings he showed up for he did not correctly present paperwork that was to be entered as evidence into my record which was used against me by opposing counsel. The court looked at me like some louse that did not cooperate and it cost me. Furthermore, he turned me over to another attorney in his office who was either incompetent or did not listen- AT ALL. They got me nowhere. I could have done a better job all on my own. Finally, I have an outrageous bill from them for anything they could possibly charge me for. After I dismissed them from my case they comtinued charging me and the other attorney showed up RID: 63902
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    2/5/12   1     1     1     1     1   Very very unethical man. If you are seeing him as the victim of domestic violence, run run away! He represents himself as an ex police detective but will give you very incorrect information, like that a no-contact order is the same as a order of protection. He will no show in court or fail to file papers at all, making you look like a no show, which you will have to explain again over and over, long after you have fired him. He is glad to take long meetings about totally irrelevant information. Your retainer will be gone before much is done. His office staff is a mess and unprofessional. Motions always contain inaccuracies and he is glad to tell people he can get them sole custody and not explain that it will be unlikely and very expensive. That's how he makes his money. RID: 63317
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     12/21/11   SYSTEM: 3 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    11/13/11   5     4     5     5     5   Really awesome lawyer he really looked over our case and figured out the best solution for us. Really happy client RID: 55078
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    8/9/11   1     1     1     1     1   As bad as it gets. He's pleasant enough to get you in the door, but that is the last you'll hear from hm, except for the outrageous bill and no work done. RID: 49957
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/31/11   1     1     1     1     1   I've missed two hearings because they didn't notify me. I've found mistakes (facts, typo, grammatic) in nearly all documents. Difficult to reach by phone and email. Disorganized and unprofessional. I would not recommend to a friend. RID: 49436
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/29/11   1     1     1     1     1   It has taken two years and two months to get a divorce. I have a final but it has cost me in the two-digit figures, nothing has been done since the judge signed the order of which lots is left to be finished by Josh, and I came out of the relationship with all the liabilities and no assets. I plan to file a complaint against him because he makes promises but no progress is made. He would be the very last attorney on my recommendation list. RID: 49397
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     1/23/11   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    6/10/10   4     1     1     1     1   Although knowledgeable I did not learn anything from him that I did not already know. HE is completely terrible and you can never get in touch with him. 2 days before my court date I still could not get a hold of him to discuss my option. I would never recommend anybody using his services. RID: 31157
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    4/26/10   4     1     1     1     1   He was horrible. He is knowledgeable, but that's the best that can be said about him. He is lazy, disorganized, and impossible to communicate with. I wouldn't recommend this guy to my wife's ex. RID: 29612
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/10/10   4     1     1     2     1   He knows a lot and gives good advice, WHEN you can talk to him. But progress is very slow and communication is horrible. RID: 27062
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Albuquerque, NM
Christopher J. Knight - Albuquerque, NM
S. Matthew Torres - Albuquerque, NM
Matt Garcia - Albuquerque, NM