LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Carol Baskin attorney reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Carol Baskin
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Baskin @ Baskin
Profile updated: 12/3/09    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 1.8 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

Attorney Carol Baskin has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    2/11/13   5     1     3     4     1   I have been waiting for my final bill before I posted. I realized way too late that I had chosen badly, but felt stuck. I told Carol that I needed her to be a bull dog for me but the only one she was a bull dog for was herself. The law was on my side regarding property, and child custody was a no brainer. She strung out the proceedings for three years. Carol isn't interested in her clients or their well being. They are a means to her good end. Specifically, Carol was rude, condescending, and intimidating to me. She has no people or verbal communication skills. The billing has no detail so you cannot reconcile what was actually done. I cannot express all my displeasure at dealing with this woman in 1000 words so I will not start. Just please read these posts and look at the common thread and run as fast as you can to another attorney. RID: 100617
Read this rating's feedback
     1/1/13   3     2     1     2     1   It has been a number of years since Carol Basking represented me. My previous negative review apparently is too old to be in this list. My experience is similar to those posting here, I was grossly over charged, $28000 for contempt compliance action. Advised by other attorneys that I was poorly represented. I was threatened with a suit for a final bill for activities occurring after making it clear I was unhappy with the prior billings, legal performance, and results. Not only would I not recommend her or her firm, I would advise anyone currently represented to cut their losses and find a new attorney. Had I done so I believe I would have saved 10-15000 and gotten better service and results. Carol talks a good game to get you in the door and you are rapidly passed off to the rotating group of inexperienced attorneys that stay a short time at the firm and leave after having to deal the multitude of dissatisfied clients. If you think you are hiring an experienced attorney in Carol RID: 97564
Read this rating's feedback
     6/30/12   1     1     1     1     1   Consider the following: After Carol represented me for two two years, a miserable performance at the temporary hearing, little progress, over $30,000 paid on time, and a failed mediation, Carol refused to set a court date for three months, demanding a $20,000 retainer . Not to mention she advised me to sign over a quit claim deed to the marital home with no written agreement of exchange for anything. I found a new attorney and Carol threatened to sue me over $3000 of outstanding fees for emails regarding court date excuses and payment demands. Then she threatened to garnish my wages after a GA Bar fee arbitration, I petitioned. I hired her to be a bully and I was the one bullied. Carol saw a contentious case and $$$! She is more interested in your pocket book than your kids or case. My advice, RUN and don t go back. Your call! RID: 73620
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/17/12   1     1     1     1     1   All of the 1 ratings are higher than what she really should be rated. Carol Baskin was called a Fee **** by my mediator and I was told that Ms. Baskin screwed up my case royally! Do not hire the B***H!!!! She is now threatening to file a judgement against me for non-payment. She still hasn't answered the question of why she wasn't able to bring my case to a close even though she was paid over $15k! RID: 58999
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    11/21/11   1     1     1     1     1   These two attorneys are the WORST you can get. Over billing. I paid $3,000 for 4 hours of work. They are great at protecting themselves with 'employment contracts.' These are the kind of people that give lawyers the worst reputation. Close your checkbook and run as fast as you can. RID: 55579
Read this rating's feedback
     7/29/11   3     1     1     1     1   Carol plays GOD! Broke all promises. Deliberately took ZERO evidence case against me & turned it into a multi trial money making nightmare. She ignored & refused to talk to EVERY SINGLE witness after instructing me to have them call her. After playing GOD, I gave her WRITEN instructions duplicating HER own game plan & she refused. Georgia Bar states, MUST follow our instructions. I asked questions about why she did NOT do as promised in court & she refused to answer. When she wants your $, she is nice, then is ugly, smart mouthed, rude (including too witnesses) & puts you down. Carol even retaliates & did to me when she helped opposing attorney write order NOT agreed on & would hurt my family. Everything here on money is true too. She spends ~ $2000 - $3000 a day! She will try & get EVERYONE (GALs, Forensic Investigators, Doctors, etc…) she can involved for $. “Shark frenzy” I knew this game & said NO! So she added it to her court order as part of her revenge. Fired pronto! RID: 49354
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/8/11   3     1     2     3     1   My experience with his firm is similar to the other posters. Rather than a valued client, I was seen only as a onetime revenue source. I was over charged and under served. I have hired several lawyers and understand what quality service and fair billing is. I did not get that here. Divorce is a difficult time, you are leaving a relationship where you have been harmed, only to get into a new one with this firm were you are left with the same feeling of abuse, distrust, betrayal and regrets. I like to give positive personal referrals to professionals I deal with, this is one professional I strongly recommend avoiding. Had Ms. Baskin treated me fairy the additional business I would have sent her way would have far exceeded the short term benefit she gained from the excessive fees charged. Ms. Baskin thrives because divorce is not a repeat business. I would not use her services again and would not recommend her to anyone I cared about. RID: 39331
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     6/16/10   3     3     3     2     1   I took a chance with this attorney even though I read what I consider bad reviews based primarily on her billings. Well, as fate would have it, I just got ripped off. I paid her a $3,000.00 retainer on Friday May 14 and signed an "employment contract" and the case was dropped on the next business day, Monday May 17th. There was virtually not a single day under the contract but she gave me a bill for $2,500.00 claiming she and her staff performed services for me before we agreed to fees or singed the contract. She is a thief plan and simple and I am going to report this to the Georgia Bar Associate by filing a complaint. Find someone else because she will take your money. RID: 31360
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/14/10   2     1     1     1     1   My experience with this attorney was the same as the others. Grossly inflated bills. When I asked for itemized bills, I was told itemized bills were unnecessary and she seemed offended I asked for itemized bills. When I found an overbilling, I was billed to confirm I was overbilled. I rated her 2 on knowledge because she gave conflicting advise regarding the same topics on different days. Communication? She did not keep me informed. I had to ask her about (lack of) progress in my case. I tried tactfully communicating my concerns about the slow progress and high billing. She responded with insults and billed even more. Work Quality? She allowed my spouse to avoid submitting requested documents. My opinion is, she appears to be more interested in billing than her clients. Well into 5 digits, almost a year, and no end in sight. I did research before hiring her and found no information at that time. I personally would not use her again, I would however recommend her to my estranged spouse. RID: 26161
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    12/14/09   4     2     2     3     1   My experience as a client of Carol Baskin was the same as the other poster. Carol Baskin's bills were in my opinion grossly inflated. While I got the legal result I was entitled to, the facts and law were on my side. Important issues were not addressed, actions were taken without my authorization, my directives were not followed, and when I complained and objected to the charges and handling of my case, Carol Baskin threateded me with with disclosue of attorney client priveledged information. I am not Carol Baskin's the only disappointed client. Carol Baskin has sued close to 100 clients for refusing to pay her grossly padded fees. Don't take my word, check the Fulton, Cobb, Cherokee and other county court records, other attorneys are not suing large numbers of their clients for refusing to pay their fees. Well represented clients pay thier bills. The market speaks and speaks clearly this is an attorney to avoid. Instead of relying on a referral, had I checked the court records I wou RID: 25267
Read this rating's feedback
Click to report rating    12/3/09   5     1     5     1     1   She has the legal knowledge & tenacity, but at this time in her life has determined to be judge & jury. She no longer listens to her client, reminds them she's the attorney and refuses to communicate or answer questions concerning the case, inflates her bill needlessly, and overall does not protect her client. Understand that this is my personal experience with this attorney and may not be your experience. Since I got no explainations from her for her actions this is my determination. Knowing that I was treated this way there will be and have been others. RID: 24894
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website

Best Rated Attorneys near Marietta, GA
Michael E. Kramer - Atlanta, GA
P Darrell Kimbrell - Atlanta, GA
Douglas Rohan - Atlanta, GA