LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Marilyn Sheckter reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Marilyn Sheckter
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Firm:  Legal Family Crisis Centre
Website:  legalfam@yahoo.ca external link
Profile updated: 11/2/09    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

average quality
Rating: 3.2 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.

Attorney Marilyn Sheckter has a fair overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
The following ratings and comments have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
Click to report rating    3/31/14   1     1     1     1     1   Going on 3 years now and have paid her thousands of dollars to get me divorced. Still nothing happening. She never remembers who I am or what my case is about. I am charged to sit for hours with her reminding her of my case after she makes me wait every time to see her, once for over 2 hours (of course I was charged for this, while I had to take time off work to see her!) While waiting, and due to not getting child support from my deadbeat ex husband, I have lost my home and my children had to quit school and move out on their own to take care of themselves. I still wait for her to take my case to a judge (which she won't). This is not at all how I envisioned my final years with my children - them gone and me still working to pay lawyer fees to a lawyer who simply does not care to stand up for us! I'm convinced she just wants us to go away. Guess she got enough money from me already. Her students at law try to have her work on my case - to which she NEVER does. DO NOT CHOOSE THIS LAWYE RID: 134712
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     8/25/13   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     6/10/13   1     1     1     1     1   RID: 115482
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/19/13   3     1     1     1     1   To the person that got this lawyers services for free, I paid for by thousands! This lawyer NEVER answers phone in fact 99% of time you get an answering machine (just try calling). Does not return calls either. Pay retainer also pay for 3-5 hour consult only for you to return (if you can get in to see her), where she has no clue what your last visit included so you have to start over... which means more money for her services! As I said, you must refresh her of the details of your case every time you see her. Lousy and unprepared in court. Pressures you to accept anything without her having to fight for you. Passes off your case to a junior associate to work, so she's clueless when it comes to important facts about your case in court. The office itself is an organized mess. As I said, try calling and asking for her. Either you get an answering machine or she won't return your call. GOOD LUCK! RID: 105158
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/25/12   5     4     5     5     5   By far the best lawyer! She's very professional and knows what she's doing. She's very dedicated, and patient! She has done so much work for me, and supported me a lot! She beleived in me and never stopped, and encouraged me throughout the whole year that she has worked with me. She's a warm lady and supports her clients 100%. Thank you Marilynn for everything that you have done for me and my little family!!! I would definitely refer her to someone if they needed a lawyer! RID: 77679
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/28/12   1     1     1     1     1   Adjournment after adjourment after adjournment purely to drive up her costs...stay far away! RID: 64790
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    2/13/12   5     5     5     5     5   Marilyn has been the best thing that happened to me. She is preofessional and efficient. always available for an emergency. The only way that anyone would insult her is if she beat them in court which is obviously what the first rating was about. Get a life loser. RID: 63858
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/18/12   5     5     5     5     5   I met Marilyn sheckter few years ago and when needed a lawyer advise she gave it to me for free, when decided to open a file I chose her right away since I trusted her to be the most honest and helpful lawyer, I wasn't mistaken, she was so supportive and helpful, she didn't charge me anything for twos meeting I had with her since she knew my financial situation wasn't so great, luckily I do not need her service anymore but if I ever will again she surly will be the first one I will choose! Thank you so much dear lady! Carmit Podolak Edmonton RID: 62155
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/18/12   5     5     5     5     5   Wonderful and professional. Knows her stuff, knows how to get things done, and does it well. RID: 62140
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/17/12   5     5     5     5     5   Dedicated and patient lawyer, generous and uses her time well. Has devoted hours to our situation, probably to her detriment. She's not an attack dog though. Very reasonable, collaborative and direct. Doesn't like to waste her time. RID: 58969
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website

Best Rated Attorneys near Edmonton, AB
Ali Moughel - Edmonton, AB
Senia Tarrabain - Edmonton, AB
Hu Young - Edmonton, AB