LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Diann Castle attorney reviews

Attorney Diann Castle

Save this listing Search again
Diann Castle
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Website:  castleandassociates.ca... external link
Profile updated: 7/1/14    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 1.5 out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

Attorney Diann Castle has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Q: My experience with this lawyer is that she can lie about anything to suit her own needs. She is not professional at all.?    Subscribe    Answer it    See answers

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
     8/31/14   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     8/11/14   2     1     1     1     1   I wish I'd read these BEFORE I hired her - I believed that she was the wildcat I needed to deal my ex's lawyers' stalling techniques - but she never showed up ready for a meeting, never responded to my letters, e-mails or phone calls, and wasn't effective in pre court trials. I felt left completely left to the sharks without a word of compassionate or helpful advice. I tried to report her to the legal society but they requested that I "prove" that she didn't get back to me - to which I said I should just provide my whole file, which they refused. I felt so abused, (By both her and the legal society of AB) I couldn't even pull that together. Four years later, I can advise that I tried to move forward with her for three years and I wasted $100,000, and NEVER got to court. She billed for appts she never prep'd for, had no notes for, made excuses for herself, and never answered my questions - I only stopped when I ran out of money! (Don't be such a slow learner is all I can suggest) RID: 141661
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/21/14   2     1     1     1     1   This lawyer took my last cent knowing I was stressed over a one sided court system. She promised me the world and left me hanging at court with a no show and a student lawyer to tell the judge she wasn't representing me with absolutely no notice. What a disgrace to justice. Its almost like they created a legal plunder system. RID: 139979
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/8/14   1     1     1     1     1   I hired Diann in 2013 and I found her to be two faced. All along she said one thing to me and acted completely in the opposite manner. At first I thought she was sloppy in her applications to court on my behalf, but noticed that her errors were systematically in favour of the opposing side. I should have fired her early on, I eventually pushed for a settlement meeting in which much to my horror and bewilderment she turned on me and attacked my position instead of advocating for me. Fortunately the opposing lawyer was a decent individual and did not take advantage of the situation. After the meeting Diann took me aside and tried very hard to pressure me into a settlement that was clearly not in my interest based on her own earlier advice. I fired her shortly after that meeting. I was fortunate to find an ethical lawyer to represent me and horrified later to discover how badly Diann was undermining my case and compromising my position. Stay away from her. RID: 136501
Read this rating's feedback
     4/11/14   1     1     1     1     1   I hired Dianne Castle back in 1992 and I see from these reviews that not much has changed. Lucky for us, we fired her just barely in time and although it took another lawyer significant time and trouble, he was competent and thus able to untangle the legal mess she had created. She was incompetent then and two decades later, she is still incompetent. There are plenty if good lawyers in this city so keep looking because she is NOT one if them. RID: 135230
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    12/5/13   "The Law Society of Alberta Reprimands and Fines Diann Castle for Unprofessional Conduct" - http://www.lawsociety.ab.ca/files/hea... 
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     11/23/13   3     1     1     1     1   RID: 127551
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     11/11/13   2     1     2     1     1   I hired Diann to represent me in my divorce. I mainly selected her because of her years of experience and because she was not very busy. I made a huge mistake retaining her which I found about after she charged me over $9,000. She is very unethical and tries to escalate everything to court in order to litigate. Although I did not have any issues with custody, she almost created a major problem with me. You will be better off representing yourself or hiring a Junior lawyer who is more professional and ethical. As the other reviewed stated below, you should run in the other direction. RID: 126837
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    9/17/13   1     1     1     1     1   Anyone considering hiring this lawyer should run in the opposite direction. She is bad news. Her primary objective is to plan her next vacation and she starts by sizing you up in terms of how much money you are worth. She will then talk circles, do nothing, bill you, and, when the time comes, she'll sell you out. Then, she'll take her vacation and wait for the next vulnerable parent (that is seeking help in sorting out the breakdown of a family) to come along. Word of advice - if you do hire her, attend every hearing. Don't trust her. RID: 123628
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/28/13   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
 
*
 10/26/12   1     1     1     1     1   I had retained this lawyer in 1999 for my case in family law. When it came time to sign the divorce papers, there was nothing on the papers to stop the mother from leaving Calgary. Her comment to me was that the custody is seperate from the divorce and that the mother can not leave Calgary. Your to trust your lawyer so i signed the papers. When it came time to see my daughter, the mother had vanished. I went to Diann's office a fired her on the spot in front of everyone at the firm she was working for. It took me 6 months to find my daughter with the aid of Missing Children Canada. The mother ended up in Whithorse Yukon. I retained another lawyer did my travels for Calgary to Whithorse for the visits. I did 16 return trips back and forth. The last visit, I stayed here in Calgary, got in to court and got the order to have my daughter stay. In december of 2000, i was awarded sole custody of my daughter. Diann is a fake and does over charge for herself. This lawyer (Diann Castle) is a ver RID: 93865
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/24/12   5     5     5     5     5   After 4 years and tens of thousands of dollars lost to an idiot lawyer, I hired Diann. I only wish I had been referred to her earlier!! I lost so much time and money with the past lawyer. Diann was on top of it from the beginning, yes she is busy (for good reason!!)things don't happen overnight, but when they do happen she fights for you like no other lawyer in the city. I would use her and refer her again and again! As for using her assistants and other lawyers, she does this because she is so busy. She's not charged HER rate when she uses them, which has saved me time and money. Love her!! RID: 93717
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     9/26/12   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
 
*
 8/14/12   1     1     1     1     1   Worst Lawyer and person you could ever come across, these ratings of 1's is much too generous for her. I don't know how she sleeps at night, she literally robs people of their money with her manipulation, deceit and lies. She told me that my ex owes me a lot of money, 100,000.00 to be exact. I only received 23,000.00 after a pain staking 3 years with her firm. She charged me 23,000.00 to get it, which means I did not receive a dime of retroactive child support, nor a penny from the matrimonial home. I would have had a better outcome getting a divorce through the Court system on my own, that's how bad she is. $425.00 an hour, repeats herself and charges you twice for it. There should be a Support Group out there for anyone who has had the misfortune of having her represent them, they will need it! RID: 85997
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     7/4/12   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    10/4/11   1     1     1     1     1   Diann Castle and her supporting staff is probably the worst lawyer in the city. she is using her assistance to the whole work for her and she does not read the file. I found her a waste of time and money. Moreover, if you want to lose your case, go ahead and hire her if you take my advise stay far away from her and find yourself a lawyer who respect you and does rip you off. RID: 52796
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/19/11   1     1     1     1     1   ...WORST LAWYER I EVER HAD!!! Does not listen to client needs. Does not care but charges like she knows what she's doing. RID: 48766
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/30/11   3     1     1     1     1   Before I chose to use Diann I came on this sight to check her rating. I decided to give her the benefit of the doubt comments were written by disgruntled ex's. What a huge mistake! Everything people have said on here is true. She doesn't listen and tells you how it's going to go without knowing the facts. She doesn't get back to you and when she does, gives you a one sentence response without answering questions. It cost me over $2,500 just for docket court and she didn't even show up! She had Chuck Easton fill in for her and I had to try to explain what was going on right before court. Perhaps it wasn't her fault for not being there, but she charged me all the same. Right after court I told her I no longer wanted her services so I could self represent. She is so slow I knew I would be able to start seeing my kids sooner if I dropped her. She has taken nearly two weeks and she STILL hasn't filed a cease to act. There's more, but I am nearing my limit on here. WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY! RID: 43390
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    3/28/11   3     2     2     2     2   Complained to the Law Society about Castle and Associates. Nothing came of it, of course, despite the fact that the other side in the divorce had emailed them about signing over custody and they NEVER followed up on it. I then took Castle and Associates to Taxation (which anyone can do if they disagree with a lawyers billing, etc). I was given money back to go against a bill that I refused to pay until the Taxation process had finished. I think I got about $2000 knocked of my bill. Overall, the work was shoddy, with a lot done by assistants. Diane herself misspoke in court a couple of times, which I expect was due to being unfamiliar with the file. I WOULD NOT recommend her as a lawyer for anyone involved in a divorce. RID: 43237
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/28/11   3     1     1     1     1   I used Diann for more than 5 years as she was recommended by someone else. She was hard to reach except by letter (which is abysmally slow). She was very disorganized and often acted only as an afterthought. I had to keep on top of things and remind HER instead of the other way around and since I am not a lawyer I didn't always know what she should have been reminded about or what the options were. One order was filed before I reviewed it and it contained an clause that I disagreed with and had been a key point of contention for years (and I was still billed for this even though it was not what I wanted). Definitely not cost effective for me. RID: 40254
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    7/20/10   4     2     4     3     2   I think she knows what she is doing, but takes awhile to get to the point. Maybe suffers from a little arrogance. Could be she takes on too many cases to be effect and efficient at any of them. Probably is a good one if she is on her game . . . can be a crap shoot in that regard. RID: 32502
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/24/10   1     1     1     1     1   I would never recomend Diane Castle, She ripped me off every chance she could. My divorce ended up costing me about 30k and it was a total waste. I had to settle with my ex because she wasnt doing anything she promised. The worst mistake I ever made hiring her. I only hope one day she has to go thru a divorce and I hope she goes thru the same crap I had to. She will take you for every cent she can,do yourself a favor find a different lawyer. RID: 26491
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Calgary, AB
Raj Sharma - Calgary, AB
Brian Warrington - Calgary, AB
Lindsay Ewen-Jones - Calgary, AB