LawyerRating

Find, rate and review Attorneys and Lawyers


Shirley McNeilly attorney reviews

Add a picture of this attorney Save this listing Search again
Shirley McNeilly
Attorney
Practice Area:  Divorce / Family Law
Profile updated: 10/21/09    Submit profile update    Subscribe to profile updates

poor quality
Rating: 1.6 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

Attorney Shirley McNeilly has a poor overall rating on LawyerRatingz.com.


The following postings have not been substantiated by LawyerRatingz.com.

New! - Questions and answers about this attorney

Submit a news article about this attorney Rate this attorney
KEY Date

 K 

 n 

 o 

 w 

 l 

 e 

 d 

 g 

 e 

 C 

 o 

 m 

 m 

 u 

 n 

 i 

 c 

 a 

 t 

 i 

 o 

 n 

 T 

 e 

 n 

 a 

 c 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 W 

 o 

 r 

 k 

   

 Q 

 u 

 a 

 l 

 i 

 t 

 y 

 V 

 a 

 l 

 u 

 e 

Comments
 
     4/30/14   SYSTEM: 2 positive duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
     9/16/13   1     1     1     1     1   Horrible lawyer. If u have come here to review Ms. McNeilly as a possible lawyer , PLEASE listen to the reviews almost everyone have left on here. This woman needs to have her licence revoked. I can not believe she hasn't been "shut down" yet by the bar. RID: 123508
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     12/6/12   1     1     1     1     1   I used Shirley McNeilly as my lawyer about 6 yrs ago when I split with my common law husband. I have never received such horrifying service from a "professional". From the get go she was rude, incompetent, lazy & just plain nasty. If I was lucky enough to actually speak to her on the phone which took months of phoning to receive one phone call back, she was obnoxious , rude & made it very clear she was to busy for me. She refused to get back to my ex's lawyer as well, completely stalling everything. She seemed to advocate more for my ex than me telling me he had a right to see his stepdaughter ( my daughter)whom he abused our whole relationship & made me out to be the bad person in it. After over a year of stalled proceedings , avoided phone calls & meetings, crappy advice , several complaints to the law firm she is with & horrible treatment I fired her & put in a formal complaint to the law society. She lied through her teeth but had to refund my retainer. DO NOT USE THIS LAWYER!! RID: 96281
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    5/29/12   1     1     1     1     1   Shirley never returns calls or emails and when she does she will always have her assistant do them in formal letter form for billing hours. After months of trying to find out what was going on with my case she finally booked a meeting which turned out to be a very expensive "refresh her memory" with the end result being that I should try to negiotiate a settlement myself with my ex and let her know the results. She didn't even bother to read the results claiming I hadn't even contacted her for months. Good thing I kept the receipts for the emails to prove her wrong. She then insisted she would need ANOTHER several thousand as a retainer to read it. I have never felt that she was on my side only ever siting how my wants would affect my ex - When paying those big bucks I need a lawyer who I feel is my advocate not my ex's. After a year and half of her doing absolutely nothing on my case it's time to part ways and say "bye, bye". I would never recommend her as a lawyer. RID: 71051
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating
*
 11/7/11   1     1     1     1     1   Bad lawyer, very bad. Rude, incompetent, unreliable the list goes on. She screwed me out of an entitlement due to her error in filing for the wrong entilement, for the wrong company. When I noticed this she never responded back. I sent e-mails, left phone messages, went there in person and she would not see me faxed her all the errors and there was 50 pages of them and still no response. She does not work for you no care. I don't know what or why she goes to work in the morning. I will steer as many away from her as possible. I am going to the bar and complaining, although I am not confident they will do anything. Just don't stay with her or go to her. Get out now if your in and cut your losses. My headache as been on going for 3 years. My divorce is still messed up. Thanks Ms. McNeilly for messing up my life, have a great one. RID: 54716
Read this rating's feedback
     8/24/11   SYSTEM: 2 negative duplicate or disallowed ratings automatically removed 
Click to report rating    8/12/11   5     4     5     5     5   Divorce is never easy and got me the results I deserve. RID: 50108
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
     5/16/11   2     1     2     1     1   I cannot speak for her knowledge or work tenacity, hence a 2.During our initial phone consultation, she reduced me to tears...very abrupt and condescending as she told me what she was going to do for me, regardless of the fact ours is a very amicable split. After googling lawyer reviews, I found these ratings and will not be using her service. RID: 45716
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    1/22/11   3     1     1     2     1   No overall plan for her client. Not an advocate. Always reactive, not proactive. Delay in updating the client of the progress. No follow-up of the action taken. Act without consulting client. Underestimate the strategy of the opposing party. Very disappointed of her performance. RID: 39943
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Click to report rating    10/21/09   2     1     2     1     1   Very bad communicator, does not return calls and causes extensive delays and then blames the other side when it was really HER!! Also her fees are unbelievably high and you get no real value for what you pay !!! Will never deal with her again RID: 23400
Registered users can respond publicly to this rating
Rate this attorney

Add these ratings to your own website
* Rating left by a registered user

Best Rated Attorneys near Edmonton, AB
Ali Moughel - Edmonton, AB
Senia Tarrabain - Edmonton, AB
Hu Young - Edmonton, AB